Whose idea was this…

…to make homemade cheese crackers? 

Ok, ok.  It was my idea.  I came across the recipe the other day, one that I had ripped out of some magazine, and got the bright idea to make them and use those little cookie/cracker cutters that I have. 

cracker dough

To my disappointment they were bland and tasteless.  The next batch, Tom and I added some kosher salt before baking.  I still wasn’t satisfied.  Then we got the idea to sprinkle cayenne pepper, garlic salt and grated some parmesan reggiano cheese over the top before baking.  Tom liked them and ate quite a few of them.  (As a matter of a fact, he is eating some more right now).  Good boy!   I still disliked them. 

cheese crackers2

Then I got another bright idea (I was full of…ideas today.  Well, I was full of something).  I thought about frying some.  Brian wasn’t too keen with the baked crackers, but the fried ones were to his liking as they were to me.

fried vs baked

Live and learn, I say. 

I don’t think that I can take it,
‘Cause it took so long to bake it,
And I’ll never have make that recipe again-
Oh, no!
Oh, no
No, no
Oh no!!

3 thoughts on “Whose idea was this…

  1. Ah baking… one of the coolest things on earth.. In my unexperienced opinion, that is. The unhealthy fact is that almost everything tastes better fried. Those darker ones in the last picture look pretty tasty, those are the fried ones? Have an interesting day… Had to think up a little different closing there. Lori

    Like

  2. I just love that you do things like this with the boys. It’s so good for them. I’ve had recipes like that too– you try and try again in different ways to make it come out as you’d pictured.

    I hope you had a wonderful weekend!

    :Hugs:

    Like

  3. Hi Liz;

    That’s the greatest thing about learning new recipes. The ability to change the recipe and make it your own. I do that with every new recipe I try. I’m too used to not following directions or measurements. 🙂 Must be the Italian in me and growing up in an Italian home with great cooks. Have a lovely day my friend. ~Hugs~

    Like

Leaving a Reply is Much Appreciated!

