La cucina di nonna (I think)

It seem that it is getting harder for me to post on weekends. Especially this weekend.  Tom and I did much needed yard work.  The weeds were overtaking the backyard.  It was a mess.  I must confess that I haven’t devoted much time to the grounds this year.  The heat is unbearable.  The pool has been closed down for a couple of weeks now due to financial stress.  We gave up a lot of things this year.  I hope next year is better for us. 

We do try to do things that fill our time and keep our souls filled.  This weekend we all made homemade pizza and we all took turns kneading the dough.  I must admit that we did have some fun. I only hope to make some good memories for Brian without having to spend a lot of money. 

We all have our favorite. 

Brian’s- loaded with mushrooms and other veggies.

b_pizza

Tom’s-loaded with pepperoni, ground hamburger and anchovies

t_pizza

Mine-artichoke hearts, meatballs, pepperoni, black olives, onions, green peppers and an antacid on the side.

l_pizza

Pizza Dough Recipe

I have not worked on Brian’s crocheted cardigan for two days.  I really must get back to it. 

7 thoughts on “La cucina di nonna (I think)

  1. What a wonderful family memory! I do the same with my girls. We usually buy the pre-made crust though.
    Funny thing, earlier today I was thinking about getting on here and finding a good pizza dough recipe….Low and be hold, here is one! I even clicked your blog link by accident, lol!!!
    I think I’m supposed to make pizza with the kids!!!
    I hope all is well,
    hugs,
    Sonia

    Like

  2. Oooo, I’ll take 1 slice of each, hold the anchovies… extra antacids on the side! (one the size of a hockey puck!)

    I love pizza.. but then again.. I just love to eat!

    Have a great week, Liz.

    I really need to do some outside work (scrubbing and re-staining my deck, pressure washing the house, etc.) but it has been too hot here, too!

    🙂 hugs,
    Becca

    Like

  3. Hi Liz, I strongly feel that it’s the moments like that (making pizzas together) that build strong memories for children. You give your time to him, and that is the best and most valuable gift anyone can give! Kudos to you and Tom! Brian will grow up remembering times like these and will cherish them forever. Some of the best memories I have of my grandparents are of times playing Old Maid together or learning how to make traditional Danish pastries. My head is full of times like those, and I’d venture to guess that they cost very little money yet still mean so much to me decades later.

    My, how I rambled on! I hope you have a wonderful start to your week.

    :Hugs:

    Like

  4. Hi Liz: It is so humid here. I’m hoping it breaks today.
    All those pizza’s look SO good. I love anchovies and artichokes along with pepperoni and sausage. Not on my diet however. I have to take Prilosec, too! LOL. Have a great day. HUGS

    Like

  5. Happy Monday to you
    Wow you must have fun making all this pizza and it’s looks so great. mmmmmmmm I like a taste of each of them.
    Brian is a lucky fellow living with you and Tom.
    Have a nice start on a new week my friend.
    hugs

    Like

Leaving a Reply is Much Appreciated!

