One person’s junk…

While cleaning out the attic last Saturday I found many of my crochet books and patterns that I thought I had lost.  I have a few vintage patterns.  Some were from my mother and some I purchased years ago.  This booklet, below, cost 10 cents and the copyright is 1953. 

vintage crochet1

vintage_crochet

A few years ago I crocheted these doilies. I also found them in the attic along with some table clothes and placemats.  Periodically I would search around the house for them.  I was upset that I couldn’t find them.  I thought that I had either given them away or threw them out in one of my psychotic episodes cleaning frenzies.  I was so happy to find out that I still had them. 

doily1a

doily1b

 

One reason that I stopped using doilies is because after washing them they need to be blocked.  As you can see in the bottom one it won’t lay flat unless it is blocked.  Nonetheless, I thought they were kind of pretty and unique at that time when I made them. 

Well, that was a boring post.  I am just happy that I took some pictures so that I could make a post.  I think I have posted four day in a row.  That is a record for me.

6 thoughts on “One person’s junk…

  1. Hi Liz, I have some old books like that and just can’t get rid of them. Wow the rose was so pretty! and would love to have that bread dough recipe. I haven’t been able to visit or post for a few days due to my computer, but it’s better since the tower was worked on and a tech came and worked on my computer. It’s back to being faster. Now if I can just get my sound back. lol. It’s getting wintry cold here now. feel more like staying in than usual. Love and ~hugs~

    Like

  2. Those are pretty! I’m glad you found them!
    My grandma had(i’m sure she still has some hiding somewhere s no one can find them) some, it was so funny to look through them.:) There’s some real nice *wink, wink* stuff in some of them…

    Like

  3. Hi Liz that is awesome fo find those books in the attic. Can you stand and walk in your attic? we can in certain parts, but I don’ t store anything in the attic I won’t go up there it freaks me out. Have a super great week sweetie big hugs

    Like

  4. Hi Liz,

    10 cents, what a bargain! LOL It’s fun to find old things like that. I’m sure they are collector’s items too.

    You have such a talent, I can’t even sew on a button without a struggle.

    ((Hugs))

    Like

  5. Hi Liz: Oh, I’m sure you were happy to find your hooks, patterns and doilies. I lost some of my knitting books and I was so annoyed. I’ve searched and searched for them. Have a great day. HUGS

    Like

Leaving a Reply is Much Appreciated!

