Is it soup yet?

A couple of carrots, a few stalks of celery, some cashews, pistachios, a sweet potato…Mmm! What can I make with what I have on hand? Mulligatawny Soup. I have been making this for a few years. Ever since I saw the “Seinfeld’s Soup Nazi” episode, my curiosity was peaked as to just what this soup was. After surfing the net, I found a version of the soup that I thought I would like. I have revised the soup that I chose just a little.

Soup Nazi Mulligatawny (Indian) Soup (4-6 serving)

6 cups chicken broth or vegetable broth
2 potatoes, peeled &, sliced
1 large sweet potato, peeled and sliced (this is my addition)
(I slice my potatoes thickly and then cut thick rounds in half)
2 carrots, peeled & sliced
2 stalks celery, with tops
1 medium onion, chopped
1 cup frozen corn
2/3 cup roasted red peppers, diced
1/2 cup tomato sauce
1/2 cup shelled pistachios
1/2 cup roasted cashews
1/4 cup butter
3 tablespoons sugar
1/2 teaspoon curry powder
1/2 teaspoon pepper
1/4 teaspoon thyme
1 bay leaf
1 dash marjoram
1 dash nutmeg

1. Combine all ingredients in a very large pot.
2. Bring to a boil, then reduce heat and simmer, uncovered, for 3½-4 hours or until soup has reduced by more than half.
3. Stir occasionally for the first few hours, but stir often in the last hour to prevent the mixture from sticking to the bottom of the pot.
4. The edges of the potatoes should become more rounded, and the nuts will soften. It should have the consistency of chili-thick and brownish.
5. Add salt to taste.

*DON’T FORGET TO REMOVE THE BAY LEAF BEFORE SERVING.

Psst! I add more cashews, pistachios, potatoes, curry powder, chicken broth…Heck! add more or less of everything you desire. This recipe is fail proof as are all soups.

2 thoughts on “Is it soup yet?

  1. Goodness, that is some soup. It sounds wonderful. I miss my Sausage soup, but it has to have Gianelli Sweet Italian Sausage and I can’t purchase it in Maine. Maine Sausage is awful, just like all it’s meats. Have a lovely day. HUGS

    Like

Leaving a Reply is Much Appreciated!

