That’s outlandish!

My first love of yarn was when I was about three years old. Since my mother crocheted, I wanted to learn. Crocheting was the first form of needlework I accomplished thanks to my mom. However, I persevered with an attitude and stubbornness to learn the art of crochet.

Knitting is what I really wanted to learn. After all, how many crocheted doilies and granny square afghans does one need? And, who even uses crocheted doilies anymore? I find that most crocheted items tends to be gaudy and outlandish. My grandmother knitted socks, mittens, sweaters, etc. and I was amazed with how she could use four needles at once. Being afraid of my grandmother and her evilness, I never dared asked her to teach me. I just sat quietly across from her, with my arms outstretched, hanks of yarn looped around my hands while she coiled each hank of wool into a ball for her next project. All the while, hoping she would not talk to me or berate me with her broken English. It wasn’t until I was in my early 20’s that I decided to teach myself how to knit without my grandmother’s curse blessing.

Again, I persevered with an attitude and stubbornness to learn the art of knitting. I purchased this book-

bought a pair of needles, some yarn and sat down determined to learn. After numerous hours of frustration, I finally did it. I made my first garter stitch swatch. In addition, no one helped me or guided me. From that first swatch, I forged on to more complicated stitches and projects. However, in the end, it wasn’t such a big deal, I didn’t know anyone else who could knit and with whom I could share knitting tales and techniques with except…and, that wasn’t going to happen.

The point I was trying to make…Well, it wasn’t really a point after all. It was just that I happened upon this website that reminds us crocheters and crocheters in training, of what not to crochet.

whatnottocrochet.gif

I am thinking of submitting one of my crocheted items to this site. Click here to find out which item. I am sure you will all agree that this is one item that comes under the category-“What Not to Crochet”.

Of course, as the old saying goes, “Different Strokes for Different Folks”.

3 thoughts on “That’s outlandish!

  1. As a child I think we all have home knitted cloths.
    Almost every women was knitting and we learn to knit in school. I “hate” it… or can we say it never got well. We had to knit some Norwegian “selbuvotter” (http://www.monai.net/blog/?cat=40)
    Here is some typical Norwegian “kofter”: http://www.dennorskehusfliden.no/?aid=9076090

    Some great sites:
    http://www.learntoknit.com/instructions_kn.php3
    http://www.knittinghelp.com/
    http://knitting.craftgossip.com/

    Like

  2. Hi Liz, You should definitely submit the doll, although I kind of like it, it shows your creative side. I sort of taught myself to knit, I watched my Mom and copied. I use to hold the yarn while she rolled it into a ball too. I was the kind of knitter that started things and Mom would finish them. Hope you had a nice day. *hugs*

    Like

  3. Hi Liz: I learned to knit from a neighbor the first year I was married. I loved it! I’m hoping my arthritic hands will let me get back to it. It is ICY here! Have a terrific day. HUGS

    Like

Leaving a Reply is Much Appreciated!

