Sunday’s Baked Macaroni and Cheese

This is an indulgence that can only be consumed very rarely. There are times when I just want some back-home comfort food and this recipe is one of my comfort foods.

baked macaroni & cheese

Cheesy Baked Macaroni & Cheese with Butter Crumb Topping

Measure out 2 cups of uncooked macaroni and in a large pan cook according to the package direction using the lesser time-al dente.  (The macaroni will continue to cook in the oven.) Drain, put back into pan and set aside.

    Butter Crumb Topping ingredients-

  • 1 package/tube of buttered snack crackers such as Ritz® .
  • 3 tablespoons butter
  • While the pasta is cooking, crush crackers into large crumbs. You should have about ¾ cups of cracker crumbs.  Melt 3 tablespoons of butter in a small fry pan or saucier.  Add the cracker crumbs to the melted butter and mix.  Set this aside.

Preheat oven 350°F

Grease a 2-quart baking dish with cooking spray or unsalted butter

To prepare, have your flour already measured out and stir the seasonings into the measured milk.

    Ingredients-

  • 3 tablespoons butter
  • ¼ cup finely minced onions
  • 3 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 3 cups of milk
  • ¾ teaspoons salt
  • ¾ teaspoon dry ground mustard
  • ¼ teaspoon ground black pepper (a little more if you desire)
  • 4 cups (16 oz.) shredded Colby cheddar cheese (buy the block and grate/shred yourself-taste so much better)
  • ½ cup grated parmigiano-reggiano cheese (optional)

In medium saucepan over medium heat, melt butter, and add the onion.  Cook for 2-3 minutes until you can smell the onions and the onions are somewhat translucent.  Add the flour; cook for 1-2 minute stirring constantly (don’t let it burn or brown).  Stir in milk and seasonings; cook stirring frequently until mixture boils and becomes thick. Stir the shredded Colby and grated parmigiano-reggiano into your sauce.  Pour the cheese sauce into the macaroni and mix.  Pour this mixture into a 2-quart, greased or sprayed baking dish. Sprinkle the buttered cracker crumbs all over the top. Bake in a 350°F oven for 30 minutes or until bubbly and hot.

Serves 6

26 thoughts on “Sunday’s Baked Macaroni and Cheese

  1. I first tried this recipe last thanksgiving my entire family loved it and now i make it at family get togethers its just perfect thankyou!!

    Like

  2. Can’t wait to try this. I hate boxed Mac & Cheese and have been looking for a home made recipe that is easy to follow, this sounds like it.
    I’ll try this one this weekend, sounds great for the wet and cold days we are having right now.
    Thanks for sharing

    Like

  3. I did not see a “print” icon for the mac and cheese recipe and when I printed it I got the whole file of 12 pages. What did I miss? The recipe looks great and I will try it.

    Thanks!

    Like

    1. Hello Sally Ann,

      Being that my blog is hosted by wordpress, I have limited control over plugins, etc. Therefore the easiest way I can tell you how to print only the content you want would be to highlight/select the part(s) that you want to print. Then go to you printer (preferences) and click on selections. That will print only what you want to print from a page.
      I hope this helped you. Please let me know if you have any questions.

      Also, as suggested by Debbie in a previous comment; she highlighted the recipe, copied, pasted it on notepad, and printed.

      Enjoy!

      Like

    1. In response to the printing of the recipe; I highlighted the recipe, copied, pasted it on notepad, and printed. Worked great. I can’t wait to try this recipe. My family keeps telling me to stick to box mac and cheese because I have very bad luck with making it from scratch and it usually ends up in the trash. I’m hoping I have better luck with this, it looks delicious! Thanks!

      Like

  4. Liz, if my daughter could, she would eat mac and cheese for every meal! I’m going to make it for her this weekend!! I’ll let you know her review, but if it tastes as good as it looks, I can guarantee it will be the only mac and cheese I make!!

    Like

  5. i have celiac disease & have to eat gluten free. so i adjusted this recipe by using gluten free noodles, rice flour and for the cracker topping I used nut thins cheddar cheese crackers. This really came out good – of course I wouldn’t make it everyday, but it’s a treat and really is a comfort food.

    Like

  6. OMG, I am soooo going to make this for dinner. What I love most about this recipe, aside from the fact that is sounds so good, is that I have all the ingredients and don’t have to run to the store! Thank you for sharing your recipe with us 🙂

    Like

  7. YES THIS IS GREAT BUT TRY IT BY PUTTING 4OZ. OF VELVEETA INTO THE SAUCE MIX. THEN PUT 8 OZ. PAKAGE OF SHREDDED CHEDDAR CHEESE INTO THE MAC WHILE ITS STILL HOT. THEN PUT THE SAUCE OVER THE MAC AND STIR. I’M GOING TO PUT THE RITZ ON MY NEXT MAC AND CHEESE. BET THAT WILL MAKE IT EVEN BETTER.

    Like

  8. what do you serve with your Mac and Cheese. I am having friends over next week and would love to make this…but I need to know what is best to serve with this amazing looking mac and cheese?

    Thanks

    Like

    1. Ham, hamburgers, meatloaf, fried chicken, pork chops, any barbequed meats would all be good. Some other ideas in addition to the meats or poultry would be to serve corn bread or muffins, biscuits…This macaroni and cheese can also be the main dish. If your mac and cheese is the main dish, serve a garden green salad along the side to round out the meal.

      Like

    1. Being that my blog is hosted by wordpress, I have limited control over plugins, etc. Therefore the easiest way I can tell you how to print only the content you want would be to highlight/select the part(s) that you want to print. Then go to you printer (preferences) and click on selections. That will print only what you want to print from a page.
      I hope this helped you. Please let me know if you have any questions.

      Like

      1. To piggyback on Liz’s response about printing, you can change your preferences under File, Print, and graphics to “black” instead of selecting “color”.

        In reference to the recipe, it looks really good. I will definitely try it!

        Like

  9. I am craving a good mac and cheese like this one. A treat like this once in a while is so worth it! Thanks for sharing the recipe. 🙂

    ((Hugs))

    Like

  10. Oh, that mac and cheese looks fantastic. I love it, but we just can’t have it due to our cholesterol and HBP issues. I haven’t had any in years. I do love to cook and do a lot of research since we only have so many choices. I’m bound that eliminating sodium, fat and sugar not turn into cardboard and lettuce meals. I have succeeded! Have a great day. HUGS

    Like

  11. HI Liz yummy I love mac and cheese home-made it’s a food I never eat anymore. It looks so delicious! have a great Tuesday! big hugs

    Like

Leaving a Reply is Much Appreciated!

