Citrus Stuffed Chicken

I finished the Spring-cleaning in the living room and kitchen today. Yah! I got these two rooms all ready for Easter. These two rooms, to me, are the hardest to clean. I now have the rest of the house to do and I will tackle the rest of the rooms next week.

For supper, I cooked a whole roaster chicken. I put together this recipe years ago when I didn’t want to make a bread stuffing as I was just too darn lazy.

This simple recipe and ingredients makes the chicken so moist and tender. I made a small gravy with the pan dripping and some chicken broth.

citrus stuffing

Citrus Stuffed Chicken

Preheat oven 425°F

1 large orange
1 lemon
1 small onion
2 teaspoons thyme dried leaves
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon black pepper

1 Whole Roaster Chicken
Peanut, vegetable, olive, canola oil, or whatever oil you prefer
Salt and Pepper

Cut orange, lemon and onions into chunks
Put into a small bowl add the thyme, salt and pepper. Mix well. Place chicken into an oiled shallow roasting pan. Stuff this mixture into your chicken and close (if you have left over citrus stuffing, add this to the roasting pan). Rub the outside of the chicken with oil, sprinkle salt and pepper all over the top.

Cook chicken according to the directions that come with your roaster. My roaster was a little over 5 lbs. I cooked mine in a preheated 425°F oven for 30 minutes, then I lowered the oven temperature to 375°F and cooked it for a little over an hour and a half longer or until the internal temperature (with a meat thermometer) reached 180°F.  The juices must run clean and not pink.

Take the chicken out of the roasting pan, place on to a serving platter and let it rest for 10-15 minutes before slicing.

If you want to see the finished product click here.

2 thoughts on “Citrus Stuffed Chicken

  1. Hi Liz, I prefer this recipe to regular stuffing, makes me feel like cooking, then again maybe not. Good for you getting your cleaning done, I must get some done soon also. I love your little bunny, the azaleas are such a vibrant color! Have a nice Friday, it’s the first day of Spring today, guess what? It’s snowing. *hugs*

    Like

  2. Good Morning, Liz: I stuff my turkeys that way, too. I use celery, onion and apples and oranges. I love a roast chicken! The extraction was a mess. I wrote about it on my blog.
    Have a lovely Friday. HUGS

    Like

Leaving a Reply is Much Appreciated!

