Singing A Song, Side By Side

Yet, another exciting day.  I made chicken croquettes with the leftover chicken from yesterday’s roaster.  I haven’t had croquettes in years.  As with most of us, times are tough financially, and I am trying to plan our meals where we can get more than one day out of a meal. I am having a hard time with excepting that the cost of gasoline is four dollars a gallon so far.  Luckily we only have one car and it is only used for Tom to get back and forth to work.  He grocery shops on the way home from work as the store is right on the way.  I don’t know what we would do if we actually had a life out side of this house. 🙂  

Brian and I spent a content and happy day.  It was the kind of day where we found ourselves singing.  That is quite unusual for me.  I am usually all gloom and doom.  We sang: “Side by Side” and a lot of other old songs.  I remember that song when my parents used to get together with the family.  Either my aunt or uncle would play the piano and they would have a sing-a-long of all the old songs.

Side by Side

Oh! we aint got a barrel of money
Maybe were ragged and funny
But well travel along
Singing a song
Side by side

I dont know whats a-comin tomorrow
Maybe its trouble and sorrow
But well travel the road
Sharing our load
Side by side

Thru all kinds of weather
What if the sky should fall
Just as long as were together
It really doesn’t matter at all

When they’ve all had their quarrels and parted
Well be the same as we started
Just traveling along
Singing a song
Side by side  

2 thoughts on “Singing A Song, Side By Side

  1. Oh, I remember when so many people had a piano and there was always someone who could play it. It didn’t matter if you could sing or not. What fun that was. Well, i am choosing your shoulder to cry on. Not an auspicious afternoon. They took Alexander for his first visit with his new pediatrician today – someone I recommended based on a dear friend’s long experience + other things – and he heard a heart murmur. What is worse, this is his second one. They found one when he was born, but it went away. Well, DIL Ashley and I are taking him to Lafayette tomorrow for an EKG.

    Like

  2. Hi Liz, singing is good for the soul that’s why it makes you feel so good when you do it. I stay home a lot by choice. Just a few years ago when I worked I had to drive every where and I was always busy going somewhere. I find home to be the best place to be. But it’s nice to get out once in awhile. I think I will plan a couple trips out with Morgan this summer to someplace fun. Our gas is $4.26 no end in sight. It totally sucks cause we live out in a rural area and that makes it really hard to take public trans. I will have to check into it though in case I might need to use it. Have a great Monday evening. Big hugs

    Like

Leaving a Reply is Much Appreciated!

