26 Things-‘Z’

Zest (lime)

zest lime

Tom bought limes to make himself Margaritas. I used the lime to make zest for my final letter for the 26 Things.

margarita

As for me. I swore off Margaritas. Can anyone guess why?

Today I made homemade cantaloupe sorbet/ice. But, just the same it is so refreshing. I know what we call cantaloupes are really muskmellons. Then why do we call them cantaloupes? I don’t think that I have ever had a genuine cantaloupe.

Cantaloupe Sorbet

1 cantaloupe peeled, seeded and then cut into cubes
1/2-2/3 cup of sugar depending on the sweetness of the fruit
2 Tablespoons of light corn syrup
1 cup of water

Place cubed cantaloupe and sugar into a medium bowl and mix well. Place this is the refrigerator for a couple of hours. After chilling, place the sweetened melon cubes into a blender and add the corn syrup and water. Blend well.
Transfer this mixture into an ice cream maker and freeze according to the manufactor’s instructions.
Place the frozen sorbet into a covered shallow, plastic container and freeze for a few hours before serving.

cantaloupe sorbet sorbet cantaloupe

5 thoughts on “26 Things-‘Z’

  1. Happy Monday Liz,

    Ahhh.. you have finally reached the letter “Z” I love zest and use lemon zest often in my baking. Would you believe I never had a Margarita as I’m a “coffee” totaler. LOL! I do drink a glass of wine every once in awhile.

    The sorbet looks delicious and I bet it tasted delicious also.

    Have a wonderful beginning of the week my friend. ~Hugs~

    Like

  2. Oh, Margaritas sound so good! I couldn’t have resisted. Does Tom use a mix or make his own? The Sorbet looks wonderful. I love sorbet and make it often in the summer. Have a lovely day. HUGS

    Like

  3. Hi, Liz! I’m back. I did not know that about canteloupes. I will have to read up on them. Your sorbet looks delicious whatever it is. I love the zest photo. What will you think of next? *hugs*

    Like

Leaving a Reply is Much Appreciated!

