Sunday Lasagna

Making lasagna in my family has alway been a big event.  In my family it takes two days to make a pan of the cheesy perfection.  The sauce is alway made the day before, then the next day is when you start to build and stack sauce, noodles, ricotta, noodles, sauce, noodles, ricotta, noodles, sauce, noodles, ricotta, noodles, sauce,…  Then it was all topped off with meatballs and or Italian sausage or just shredded mozzarella cheese before it is baked.  

I made lasagna for dinner yesterday and again I was disappointed by the type of lasagna noodles that I use. 

lasagna-pasta

I like the wavy type that is ridged to hold the sauce and the fillings.  I don’t profess to know all about the different type of pasta, but I do know that only certain pasta are made for certain ingredients and recipes.  For instance, for a spaghetti dinner with a tomato sauce, you wouldn’t use Angel Hair pasta.  There is a reason for all the different shapes and sizes. 

But, I moved on.  I only had a small container of ricotta cheese so I only made a two layer lasagna. 

lasagna 

3 thoughts on “Sunday Lasagna

  1. This looks fabulous. I looked at the Barilla site, which I didn’t even know existed, and thought it looked very useful for future reference. I never knew why some lasagna noodles were ridged LOL! Years ago – many years – I worked next to an Italian girl from Brooklyn who was transplanted to Houston. She was a fabulous cook. She used to bring back a suitcase of Italian sausage from her visits. Thanks for all the fun comments on my photos! Have a good day.

    Like

  2. Oh, I love Lasagna: I use the wavy noodles, too, but I’ve seen cooks use some different kind that aren’t so long. I’ve not seen them in a store yet. I use wheat noodles now. I love it with Sweet Italian Sausage throughout. Yummy. I may have to pick up the ingredients and make one soon. Have a great day. Hugs

    Like

Leaving a Reply is Much Appreciated!

