Keepsakes Or Future Potential?

 “Three Rules of Work: Out of clutter find simplicity; From discord find harmony; In the middle of difficulty lies opportunity.”-Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

Today we took everything out of our small garage, put it all in the driveway, got rid of a tiny amount of things, swept out the garage and put the junk back into the garage moved some things from the garage to the sheds. To me this isn’t getting down and doing it right. I would just love to, while Tom is working, hire a pick-up truck and just start tossing things away. I hate clutter. When my surroundings are cluttered, I am unable to function mentally. I know that some will say that I am being ridiculous. Anyhow, it was so hot and humid we sweated terribly. When I came in I took a cold shower and I just could not cool down. My heart was racing, my face was bright red, and I was dizzy.  Tom gave me an aspirin just incase I was about to have a stroke or a heart attack.  I am not supposed to take any aspirins what so ever.  All the while, and in between, I was doing laundry and the dryer didn’t help with it throwing off heat.  The washer and dryer are in the garage.

Why do most of us keep things and find that our spaces are getting smaller and smaller?  Homes are being built bigger and more storage companies are in businiess.  What in the world do we think we are going to do with all these things?  How can one live life amid turmoil and clutter?   How long do we think we are going to live that we will use everything we have stored in bins, closets, shed, attic…?  How long indeed.

It was a very busy and tiring weekend.  I cannot wait for winter to come here.  I would say, “I can’t wait for autumn, but it is almost as hot in the autumn as it is in the summer here.  Give me that winter chill.  I will open the windows, take in the crispness of the air, close my eyes and feel renewed.

2 thoughts on “Keepsakes Or Future Potential?

  1. Hi Liz,

    I know exactly what you mean about clutter. I hate it! It’s too ‘busy’ and distracting when my surroundings are cluttered.

    It must be terribly hot where you live. So far, we’ve been blessed with a mild August.

    ((Hugs))

    Like

Leaving a Reply is Much Appreciated!

