Glued To The Idiot Box

Watching all the tragedy that has been going on this weekend with Ike and the train crash in California has all seemed like a nightmare. I cannot imagine being in either position. I am so grateful that my family is safe from harm, but my heart goes out to those that have suffered and still are suffering.

As predicted, the price of gasoline has risen. It rose to over 60 cents a gallon in two day. Some gas stations here have run out gasoline. Soon we are going to have to make a few choices, we buy food and gasoline, or we pay our regular bills.

It was teacher’s workshop Friday and Brain has no school. However, he had to go to the dentist for a cleaning. He wasn’t too happy about that. I was really happy when the dentist said he had no cavities. Yesterday, he and his Cub Scout troop went on a field trip to St. Mary’s. They toured Orange Hall and saw a video about historic St. Mary’s. Brian was the only one to bring water. It was so hot that after a while the troop got sweaty and thirsty. Brian asked Tom for his water and Tom told him that it wasn’t fair that he had water and the rest of the troop didn’t. So, Tom bought 12 bottle of water for the others. The store gave him $2.00 off since it was for the cub scouts. I know it doesn’t sound like a lot of money, but it cost a dollar for each, tiny bottle of water. Why didn’t the others bring water? They know how hot it is here and especially when you are out in this heat for any length of time, it takes a toll on one.  Brian looked like he was run through a wringer when he got home.

It is Sunday night and I have this despisement for Sunday nights. I have ever since I was a kid.

6 thoughts on “Glued To The Idiot Box

  1. Hi Julia, Last Thursday the gaz went from 1.28 a litre to 1.49 because of the imminent weather in the Gulf, I don’t get it. Yes the leaders should have thought about bringing water or at least the parents should have thought of it. Have a nice Tuesday. *hugs*

    Like

  2. Thanks so much for your sweet notes, dear Liz. I wasn’t able to get online except for a minute at niece Samantha’s because they set up the baby bed in her little office and generally just being busy all the time, but I did check my comments and found yours. That was so nice. I was in Little Rock the night Ike hit up there, and when I returned home I found more signs of it had been left in Samantha’s yard than in ours. Can you believe that? Of course, parts of our parish are suffering from the terrible flooding. Not to mention what happened to the Texas victims. I hope this is all of it for this year!! Jane is experiencing a rally today that may continue for awhile. I hope it is a good time.

    Like

  3. Dear Liz
    Here in Norway we always talk about the weather, but now I am thankful for the weather we got. I am so greatful living a place without the big storms and flooding.
    To look at all that Ike has wrecked is scary.
    Thinking of you and always hope you will be safe.
    Hugs

    Like

  4. Hi Liz, It has been horrible watching the news of all the devasation going on in Texas. I have been in prayer as well for our friends in that area.
    Yes, you would think the leaders of the Scouts would have supplied water, or at least told the parents to pack some for their kids.

    Hugs!

    Like

  5. Hi Liz! Thank you so much for keeping us in your prayers for safety through Ike! It touched my heart so many were thinking of me! The prices of everything is outrageous! Wishing you a wonderful day. ((BIG HUGS))

    Like

Leaving a Reply is Much Appreciated!

