Root Beer Float Cupcakes

I had some root beer flavoring and used some to make cupcakes-Root Beer Float Cupcakes with Vanilla Cream Icing.  I used the same batter/recipe that I used for the S’more cupcakes.  I omitted the almond flavoring and used the root beer flavoring instead.  I made a butter cream icing and instead of using a couple of teaspoon of milk as the recipe calls for, I used a little more than a ¼ cup of heavy cream. I wanted the frosting to be akin to vanilla ice cream.  I crushed some root beer barrel candies to sprinkle on top of the frosting.  There is a hint of root beer flavor in the cupcake, but I should not have used so much frosting/icing on the tops of the cupcakes.  That much frosting took away from the flavor of the cupcakes. 

root beer float cupcakes
Root Beer Float Cupcake

How about those square straws?  The straws I made using tinted white chocolate.  I was loosing my patience try to make them round. 

root beer float cupcakes
Root Beer Float Cupcake in an A & W Mini Mug

Of course, Brian likes them.  If I ever make them again, I won’t use so much frosting on the tops or I was thinking of softening some vanilla ice cream and scooping a small amount on each cupcake then freezing them.  Nah!  I don’t think that would work either.  It’s back to the drawing board-so to speak.

5 thoughts on “Root Beer Float Cupcakes

  1. Hi Liz, Hi Liz, I was looking at the cupcakes and Tony happened to walk in the room, he wants to know if you can send him one and while you’re at it, the heck with my diet send me one too! *hugs* P.S. you’re were visiting me while I was visiting you!

    Like

Leaving a Reply is Much Appreciated!

