Nonna’s Fettuccine Alfredo

I have a lot of a ‘little bit of this’ and a ‘little bit of that’ in the cupboards and refrigerator. In these lean times attributed to the economic disaster we are experiencing in this country, I try to think of meals using what is on hand here rather than run to the store for ingredients. I came up with this recipe for Fettuccine Alfredo using ingredients I had on hand.

Nonna’s Fettuccine Alfredo

I made the pasta dough using 2 ½ cups of all-purpose flour, 1-teaspoon salt, 2 eggs and a tablespoon of olive oil. By the time I was done kneading this pasta dough my hands were about to fall off. I let this dough rest for 20 minutes in a plastic bag and then I got out my pasta machine to make the fettuccine.

Fettuccine uncooked
Fettuccine

While the pasta is cooking-in a large frying pan, melt 1/4 cup of butter, added 2 smashed cloves of garlic and sauté the garlic over low heat until you start to smell it. Remove the garlic and add 1-teaspoon dry basil to the butter. If your pasta isn’t ready, remove frying pan from heat so the basil and butter don’t burn.

Cook the fettuccine/pasta al dente (tender but firm to the bite).  Reserved about a cup of the pasta water and add it to the basil butter. Drained the rest of the pasta, add it to the skillet with the basil butter, and reserved pasta water. Add 3/4 cup of grated Parmigiano-Reggiano and 1/4 cup grated Romano cheese, 1/2 cup of half-n-half and 1/2 cooked frozen peas. Cook over low heat, moving it around with tongs until it thickens.

Serve immediately. Add more grated Parmigiano-Reggiano or Romano cheese to individual serving if desired.

Serves 2

Fettuccine Alfredo
Nonna's Fettuccine Alfredo

6 thoughts on “Nonna’s Fettuccine Alfredo

  1. Hi Liz, I often try to come up with something with what I have in the house, sometimes it works out well. Your pasta looks delicious, I prefer pasta served this way. When I saw your homemade pasta it reminded me of my Aunt’s homemade noodles, she didn’t use a machine though, after rolling out the dough, she folded it and cut it in strips. They were so long! Have a nice Tuesday. *hugs*

    Like

  2. Hi Liz, I had forgotten to write my favorite addictions since I was so upset but I have since had time to think about things thanks to my husband who has reminded me he still has a job and we did pay our house payment. When he said all that it made me smile cause I can’t deny he is right. How wonderful you could come up with such a yummy dinner with things from around the house without having to go to the store. We will be living leaner this month and perhaps the next and the next. But it will keep me down quite listening to God more and then I can thank him more like my husband seems to be able to do instead of freaking out like me. I feel like such a brat when I hear my husband talk I realize how much I love him and why. Thanks for your sweet prayers liz that’s so precious. I pray for you often as well. May God bring you bountiful blessings!

    Like

  3. I’ve never made pasta from scratch, but it really looks like a lot of fun (though I bet, as you said, it can get tiring on the hands). I don’t have a pasta machine…. any pointers about what I should look out for when getting one? or are they all basically the same… Great post!

    Like

Leaving a Reply is Much Appreciated!

