What Was Baking This Weekend?

I bought some hot calabrese salami and hot capocollo.  My family and I are fans of antipasto.  The way we prepare it is different than someone else might prepare it. It is up to the individual. I line a platter with slices of salami, sharp provolone, olives, and different type of veggies (anchovies for the hubby) and drizzle with an Italian dressing. We can make a meal just eating the antipasto with some bread usually pita bread and making pockets with the pita. We have never had success with store purchased pita. They rip, tear, make quite the mess, and are unusable for pita pockets. Rather than buying pita, I make mine. They work out beautifully. They were easy to slice whole or make pockets.

After they come out of the oven, they puff up and when they cool they deflate, but still maintain the separation from the top and bottom.

Pita Bread
Pita Bread

Brian wanted his anitpasto as a salad. I just added some lettuce and made some croutons using the leftover bread I made on Thursday.

croutons
Cheesy Garlic Croutons

Yesterday I had a taste for some biscotti. I made some orange-almond biscotti half coated with bittersweet chocolate.

orange almond biscotti
Orange Almond Biscotti

Click below for recipes-
Pita Bread
Chocolate Dipped Orange-Almond Biscotti

Cheesy Garlic Croutons

4 thoughts on “What Was Baking This Weekend?

  1. Liz – the antipasto and pita bread sound wonderful. I love antipasto too. I’m glad you gave a link for the pita recipe. I think store-bought pita leaves a lot to be desired… the croutons and biscotti look good too!

    Like

Leaving a Reply is Much Appreciated!

