Onion and Dill Bread

I took a break yesterday from yard work and made cupcakes for Brian and onion and dill bread for supper.  I don’t remember where I got this recipe but it was really easy to make and so delicious. The bread recipe was a no-knead batter bread using yeast.

While I was making it, I thought that this type bread would make delicious tuna salad sandwiches.  I was really pleased with the results.  It had a subtle taste of onion and dill.

Onion and Dill Bread

Makes 1 loaf

1 package active dry yeast (1/4 ounce)
1/4 cup warm water (110°-115°)
1 cup warm milk (110°-115°)
2 Tablespoons butter, softened
2 Tablespoons sugar
1 egg
2 teaspoons dill seed (not weed)
2 teaspoons dried minced onions
1/2 teaspoons salt
3 cups all-purpose flour

  • In a large mixing bowl, dissolve yeast in warm water. Add the milk, butter, sugar, egg, dill seed, onion, salt and 1 1/2 cups flour.
  • Beat on low speed for 30 seconds, then beat on high speed for 3 minutes.
  • Stir in remaining flour (the batter is sticky). Do not knead.
    Cover and let rest in a warm place for about an hour or until doubled.
  • Stir batter down and spoon into a greased 9x5x3inch loaf pan. (Standard bread sized pan).
  • Cover and let rise until almost doubled (45 minutes to an hour).
  • Preheat over at 350°F for 30-35 minutes or until golden brown. If you find that the bread is browning too quickly before it is done, cover loosely with foil.
  • Cool for 10 minutes then remove from pan onto a wire rack.
onion dill bread
Onion and Dill Bread

6 thoughts on “Onion and Dill Bread

  1. Hi Liz, No wonder you took a break, reading about all the work you and Tom did was make me tired, what a workout. The bread looks delicious, I could use a slice right about now. Have a great evening, hope you didn’t work too hard today. *hugs*

    Like

  2. Hi hon,

    I bet that bread is amazing fresh from the oven with some melted butter. I used to eat those dill potato chips like they were going out of style. Nicky is a beautiful child.. and he looks so happy, which is always nice to see! Have an amazing weekend!

    Like

  3. Good afternoon Liz! Yummy!! May I have a slice? 😉 I love to see/read new recipe. I made a similar bread just once, when hubby and I were in the US. I have (or had, not sure, I’ve lost many recipes when we moved back to Italy) a very similar recipe, but with dill weed (dry), nutmeg and herbs de Provence. Have a happy evening. Ciao!

    Like

  4. Hi Liz: The bread looks delicious. I’m not a huge fan of onion. Do you think I could use garlic instead? Toni just got some neat new cooking gadgets. One was a set of 3 different sized Springform pans. Have a great day. Hugs

    Like

Leaving a Reply is Much Appreciated!

