Casserole-Chicken Cordon Bleu

I cleaned out a couple more kitchen cabinets this morning.  After that task was done, I tackled the garage.  I have a few more things to do in the garage and hopefully it will stay straightened.  We have a really small garage and it is a catch-all.  It wouldn’t be so bad if things were put back where they belonged after being used. 

Tom trimmed the patio tree this evening.  It is supposed to rain for the rest of the week here.  It doesn’t look like we will be doing any work outside. 

Being that I am busy with so much going on around the house, I start cooking suppers at seven in the morning.  I came across a chicken cordon bleu casserole.   My family likes cordon bleu and this recipe made enough for two meals for the three of us.  I modified it slightly from the original.  You can see the original here- Chicken Cordon Bleu Casserole by Colleen Haass.

Chicken Cordon Bleu Casserole

Serves 6-8

Ingredients

2 pounds Skinless chicken breasts, cut into,chunks
Bread Crumbs  (I used Vigo Italian style)
1 Egg mixed with 1 cup buttermilk
8 oz Swiss cheese, cubed
8 oz Ham, diced
1 can (10oz) cream of chicken soup
1 cup Milk

Preparation

  • Cut chicken breast into 1″ chunk pieces.
  • Soak chicken pieces in the egg and buttermilk mixture  for an hour in the refrigerator.
  • Strain the chicken then roll each piece of chicken into the bread crumbs, coating well.
  • Brown in a little oil until golden.
  • Place chunks in baking dish, add cubes of swiss cheese and small pieces of ham.
  • Mix cream of chicken soup with 1 cup of milk; mix well and pour over all.
  • Bake about 30 minutes at 350° or until tender and bubbly.

I served each portion over white rice. 

I fried the chicken chunks ahead of time and held them in refrigerator until I was ready to mix and add the other ingredients before baking.

6 thoughts on “Casserole-Chicken Cordon Bleu

  1. Hi Liz, i’ts me Sandy up the road a piece from you, (carolina moon) although my blog is currently closed but i hope to open it soon.
    All of your recipes make me so hungry. they look yummy.
    sorry you had to fill in your pool, maybe someday you could unearth it 😉 just thinking of doing that makes my body hurt. sounds like you’ve been busy and getting lots of stuff done. i feel your pain, especially when you said you had to sit down and work the dirt. it is really hard work. hope you didn’t injure anything.

    i laughed when i saw the helmet on your hubby! LOL
    smart thinking 🙂

    we did some more raised garden beds this year.

    i learned last year, that i planted waaaaaay too many tomato plants and they needed a lot of room. have faith they will grow and they will grow huge. i had to water mine everyday if it didn’t rain and believe me when it rained it was a red letter day for me cause i didn’t have to get out there with that hot sun beating down on me.

    you might want to move some of your tomato plants down to the other end of the garden. cause believe me, they will need lots of room (hmmm guess i said that before) and you might want to put the tomato cages around them now. just tryin to be helpful. i always plant marigolds up and all around my plants. it really does help to repel pesky bugs.

    it looks like everything should do really good in your raised bed! great job! i know that isn’t as easy as it looks either. your basil and everything will take off!

    hugggs,
    sandy

    Like

    1. Hi Sandy,
      I was so happy to see your comment. I have been wondering how you were doing.
      Tom and I are buying the cages this week. At first I thought of tying them off, but thought better of it. I think they would do better in cages.
      Yes, marigolds are a wonderful idea. I have been straining my brain as to what I should plant down the other end. I told hubby some flowers maybe. Marigolds are a great idea thanks for the suggestion.
      Hugs

      Like

  2. Oh that Cordon Bleu sounds so good. I love it, but can’t have it due to all the cheese and ham. I’ll dream I’m eating it! I can’t even make Mac and cheese any longer. And I adore it. I make ine not soft and saucy, but with a more custard sauce. Oh, I’d love some. Have a great day. HUGS

    Like

  3. Hi Liz, The Chicken Cordon Bleu sounds delicious. I could see the pictures you posted of Nicky today, so cute. Your garden is going to be beautiful. I’m not so good at vegetable gardening. Have a nice Thursday. *hugs*

    Like

  4. Oh, boy! It’s 1:25 AM and I’m starving! Wanna share a bite? 😉 LOL! Hubby and I finally uploaded our Recipe Corner. It took us a long time to set things up, but better late than never, right? LOL! Now I have tons of recipe to translate into English. ^^”
    Have a happy hump day and sweet dreams! 🙂

    Like

Leaving a Reply is Much Appreciated!

