Friday Fish Fry

I have been waiting for two days for it rain.  It was predicted that it was going to rain starting yesterday right into Sunday.  I was going to hold off on water the grass seed and the veggie bed but I gave in and watered early last evening and this afternoon.  Come on rain! 

I made English style fried haddock and french fries for supper this evening.  Better known as ‘fish and chips’.  I used frozen haddock as it is quite difficult to get fresh haddock here where I live.  If you use frozen be sure to thaw it completely in the refrigerator before you use it.

Fried haddock
English Style Fried Haddock

English Style Fried Haddock

1 lb. fish fillets, (haddock or cod) cut into approx. 2 x 1 ½ inch pieces
2/3 cups all-purpose flour
½ teaspoon salt
½ teaspoon baking soda
1 Tablespoon vinegar (I used cider. Malt would also be good)
2/3 cups cold water
Vegetable oil for frying

  • Heat 2-3 inches of oil in a deep pan or fryer to 375°F.
  • Pat fish dry with paper towels.  Mix flour and 1/2 teaspoon salt.  Mix baking soda and vinegar.  Stir vinegar mixture and water into flour mixture; beat until smooth. 
  • Dip fish into batter; allow excess batter to drip from fish into bowl.  Fry 3 pieces at a time until brown, turning once, about 3 minutes.  Drain on rack or paper towels. 

Beer batter is also delicious when used to fry haddock.

7 thoughts on “Friday Fish Fry

  1. Hi Liz I am back to the first post. I sent you a package yesterday it should be there between 2 to 9 days. More like 9 days I’m sure or hopefully less. I look forward to reading more about your yard I love gardening and I love all your ideas in the yard. big hugs

    Like

  2. Hi Liz, Your fish and chips look so good, that’s exactly what Tony and Marge had for lunch yesterday at Disney. It’s supposed to rain here as well, it i very windy. *hugs*

    Like

  3. Hi Liz: Oh that haddock looks and sounds great. Could you do it with other white fish, do you think? That Cordon Bleu sounds so good also. I hope your grass and veggies do their thing. Have a great weekend. HUGS

    Like

  4. YUMMY! May I have a piece? 🙂 I like “fish and chips”, but I don’t like to fry so I just wait to visit my Dad to have fried fish 😉 Haddock is very good, I’ve never had it before moving here.
    Have a happy weekend! Ciao! 🙂

    Like

Leaving a Reply is Much Appreciated!

