Buttermilk Cinnamon Waffles

Brian likes the Eggo Cinnamon Toast waffles.  As one knows, prepackaged foods can become quit expensive.  Not to be undone by the manufactures of Eggo waffles, I decided to try my hand at making some.

cinnamon waffles
Buttermilk Cinnamon Waffles

Buttermilk Cinnamon Waffles

Makes 3½ cups of batter

2 cups of flour
¼ cup brown sugar, packed
1 tablespoon ground cinnamon
1 teaspoon baking soda
1½ baking powder
½ teaspoon salt
3 eggs, separated
2 cup buttermilk
½ cup butter, melted
1 teaspoon vanilla

  • In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, sugar, cinnamon, baking soda, baking powder, and salt. Set aside.
  • In a medium bowl, beat the egg whites until stiff.
  • In another bowl, whisk together the egg yolks, buttermilk, butter and vanilla. Pour into dry ingredients and stir briefly until just combined.
  • Fold egg whites into batter.
  • Scoop batter into waffle maker and cook according to the manufactures instructions.

Hints:
-If you are going to freeze these for toasting later, hold back a little on the baking of waffles so they don’t get too dark.
-Separate each waffle with a piece of waxed paper before freezing. This makes it easier to separate when they are still frozen or if thawed before using.

This batch made 16 waffles. I frozen them and when ready to use I will pop them in the toaster and slice them into waffle sticks so that Brian can dip them into syrup if he wishes.

I like the flavor. It didn’t have an overwhelming cinnamon flavor. The buttermilk and egg whites made them light and fluffy when they came right out of the waffle maker. They will crisp up when toasted.

Along with the waffles, I also made a batch of almond flavored biscotti.

almond flavored biscotti
Almond Flavored Biscotti

6 thoughts on “Buttermilk Cinnamon Waffles

    1. I am so sorry about the mistake. I am even sorrier that I didn’t respond to you in a timely manner. I fixed the error and I so appreciate that you caught the error and told me about it. Thank you 🙂

      Like

  1. Hi Liz, hmm, I am having a cup of coffee now, and I sure am craving one of your biscotti! Yum!! I am going to try your waffle recipe! They look beautiful as well!! Hugs!

    Like

  2. Due biscotti alle mandrole per me, per favore! 😉 -> Two almond biscotti for me, please! 😀 They look sooooooooo yummy!!! Have a very happy Easter with your beloved ones, Liz! Sunny-hugs your way! 🙂

    Like

  3. Hi Liz, You waffles look so good, I don’t buy the frozen waffles but conicidentally I did while I here i Florida. Your version look much better. I will try your recipe when I get home. It was cool here as well on Wednesday and I did put the heat on when I got up in the morning. I better get use to it, as it won’t be warm at home yet. *hugs*

    Like

  4. Oh, I’m just pouring my first coffee. I want your Almond biscotti!! I think I made waffles once! I had a sandwich maker, {flip side was a waffle maker} but it had a spout for bacon drippings and the dough ran out and all over my counter. I gave up! Have a wonderful day. I also want your garden! HAPPY EASTER! HUGS

    Like

Leaving a Reply is Much Appreciated!

