Not Just For Weddings And Holidays

Let’s see.

Vacuum-Make Pizzelles-Vacuum-Make Pizzelles-Vacuum…

Pizzelles it is!

The dust and dirt will still be here tomorrow.

pizelles1
Anise Pizzelles

Today I only made a half a batch.

When I was younger, my family used to make these in the hundreds for weddings. At that time mia famiglia was quite large and it wasn’t unusual for 300 guests to be in attendance at a family wedding. My grandfather had 6 daughter, and each one had a large Catholic wedding and reception. But as the family got smaller over the years, and the elders passed on, we all seemed to have gone our own way.

The recipe for these can be found here.

Everytime I make these, I hold my breath and hope that my pizzelle maker doesn’t quit on me. I have had it for 30 years. It is seasoned and cooks beautifully.

I have decided to keep the banner up for a while and live with it for the time being.

5 thoughts on “Not Just For Weddings And Holidays

  1. Hi Liz that looks really yummy, it looks like it would be good with strawberries or blueberries. Have a great weekend. Glad you Pizzelles is still holding up for you after 30 years. They made things good back then. big hugs

    Like

  2. Hi hon,

    This is something that I have wanted to try for some time. I am half Italian and so I think it would be nice to taste these.. a kind of bite of my heritage, lol. I am now following you on twitter. Blessings to you…

    Like

  3. Hi Liz: Those pizzelle sure look wonderful. I’ve never made them. What do you serve them with? Coffee? Wine?
    How’s the garden coming along. I got herbs yesterday. Basil, Parsley, Thyme and Rosemary. HUGS

    Like

  4. Hi Liz, Please send me some pizzelles, lol. There were seven girls and two boys in my mother’s family, but they never did the 300 plus weddings.
    Although I have been to a couple of Italian weddings that have done that. Have a nice Friday. *hugs*

    Like

  5. Ciao Liz, your pizzelle look great! 🙂 I had a school mate who’s family was from Abruzzo and she made them also with cocoa powder. They were yummy too, but I prefer the one with anise, like the ones you did. 🙂
    Italian families used to be very large. Not anymore.
    Have a happy evening! XOX

    Like

Leaving a Reply is Much Appreciated!

