‘Homemade’ Peach Pie

Peach Pie 1
Cast-Iron Skillet Peach Pie

If one buys premade piecrust and canned peach filling, and from these ingredients makes a pie then sprinkles coarse sugar on top, can it still be called a homemade pie?

Peach Pie
Cast-Iron Skillet Peach Pie

I used a cast-iron skillet instead of a pie plate to bake the pie. I got the idea from King Arthur’s Flours website.

In my opinion the only difference in baking this pie in a skillet as opposed to a pie plate/dish was the presentation. The skillet pie looked rustic and I like the look of rustic cooking.

6 thoughts on “‘Homemade’ Peach Pie

  1. That looks absolutely wonderful. Cast iron pans make everything so good. I grew up with my mom and grandmother’s using them. Can’t imagine doing without it but I’ve never made a pie in one. šŸ™‚ Thanks!

    Like

  2. Hi Liz, oh boy, you got me drooling, I would LOVE a piece of your peach pie! It’s beautiful, and you made it, so…homemade!!

    I am back after a frustrating time with our computer.

    Hugs!

    Like

  3. Hi Liz: Oh, I want some of that peach pie! Yum! I use cast iron a lot. I do several kinds of frittatas in cast iron.
    I also do berry upside down brioche bread pudding. It’s yummy, too. Have a wonderful day. HUGS

    Like

Leaving a Reply is Much Appreciated!

