Fruits Of Love

We picked our first two vined ripened tomatoes on Sunday. They weren’t as big as they should have been but they were delicious.  We were fortunate to have any tomatoes after all the rain we had. We still have quite a few ripening on the vines. They should be ready in a couple of day.

tomatoes
Homegrown Tomatoes

Tom and I were excited to see the fruits of our labor. It is hard to believe that two grown people could get so excited about tomatoes. I had forgotten how good a homegrown tomato tastes. The last time we had them was 22 years ago from my father’s garden. He grew the best beefsteak tomatoes every years. It is going to be hard to go back to buying tomatoes from a store.

Sigh!

But if God willing, we will always have next year to grow more. That will be something to look forward to. We are hoping to add more raised beds this years.

I picked four cups of blueberries this afternoon from our bush. Tomorrow I am planning to make a berry sorbet tomorrow using red raspberries and blueberries.

Brian surprised me yesterday with these weeds flowers that he picked yesterday from our front yard.

flower weeds
Flowers From Brian

What more could a person ask for than to have a child bring them flowers that they picked themselves. One of lifes beautiful moments.

4 thoughts on “Fruits Of Love

  1. Hi Liz, I’m going to plant a couple of tomatoes I think. It’s not to late here if I can find some in pots left at Lowe’s or the Home Depot. Those tomatoes look delicious. I do pray you will be able to keep a garden for a very long time. Enjoy your day sweets and thanks for signing up for me on the artfire! big hugs

    Like

  2. Ciao Liz, you sure have beautiful tomatoes 🙂 I bet it tastes very YUMMY!!! 😀 May I have a slice? 😉 I eat tomatoes every day in Spring & Summer… well, most of the year 😛 I just love them so so so much! 🙂
    How sweet of Brian to pick flowers for you. Lovely!
    Thank you for your visit and comment. I am homesick to sometimes. But not as much as I though before moving here.
    Nighy night, big hugs!

    Like

  3. Hi Liz, There’s is nothing like a homegrown tomato. The next best tomato is one from the open air market, I am anxious to get some with some taste, I only buy them when they are in season. Here it is strawberry picking time, it only lasts a short while, they are so much better than the imported ones. That is so sweet of Brian to pick some flowers for you, it reminds me of when I was a little girl and I used to bring my aunt dandelion flowers, she would tell tell me she loved them and that they were beautiful. *hugs*

    Like

  4. Hi Liz: I so am jealous that you have a garden. I love home grown tomatoes. Several years, I had plenty to can. That was terrific. I love the bouquet. It\’s actually quite unique. Have a lovely day. HUGS

    Like

Leaving a Reply is Much Appreciated!

