Lord, Hear My Prayer

Lord God, grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change; courage to change the things I can; and the wisdom to know the difference. Amen

My daughter Carrie is four months pregnant.  I mentioned her pregnancy in one of my previous post.  She had a Alpha-Feto Protein Assessment done last week.  This morning she got a phone call from her doctor’s office informing her that the AFP test showed the levels were low.  

  AFP levels can be abnormally low which may indicate:

  • The pregnancy is inaccurately dated.
  • Trisomy-21 (Down syndrome).

Carrie will be thirty-five this Wednesday.  As most of us  know, a person of that age has a 1 in 400 chance of having a Down syndrome child.

Carrie is going to have another ultra sound this Thursday to determine if her child has Down Syndrome, etc.  Maybe the gestation period is wrong and she isn’t as far along as her last ultra sound showed.

My cousin, Judy gave gave birth to a Down syndrome child when she was 18 years old.  His name was Barry.  That was 54 years ago.  Judy passed away last year and not too long after her passing, her son, Barry left this world.  I think he died from a broken heart.  I can’t stress enough how wonderful Barry was.  We knew as children that Barry was different but not so different.  He was one of us.  I don’t know if I am explaining it well enough.  I do know that any child is a blessing.  I do know that if Carrie’s child, my grandchild, has Down Syndrome that it won’t change the love we will all have for him/her.

Of course I pray that these tests are wrong and if they show that she is carrying a Down syndrome child I humbly ask that you pray for Carrie and our family asking the Lord to give us the fortitude that we may need.  I pray that whatever we have to do, we will do with a happy heart.  

I do not want to appear selfish.  I just don’t want the child to have to endure all the complication that one has with Down syndrome.  I don’t want him/her to suffer.  I can’t stand to see a child suffer and that includes my daughter Carrie.

Dear Lord, during this trial,
I offer up to you my confusion
Give me clarity
I offer up to you my despair
Give me hope
I offer up to you my weakness
Give me strength
I offer up to you my pettiness
Give me generosity of spirit.
I offer up to you all my
Negative thoughts from Satan
So that when he asks ‘Where is Your God now?”
I may respond “Right here with me, giving me His grace
As a Heavenly beam of light penetrating your darkness!”

These six days are going to seem like six years.

6 thoughts on “Lord, Hear My Prayer

  1. Hi Liz, we certainly can all understand as we always pray for a healthy child. I will pray that also. But no matter what the outcome we know the child will be a blessing as your dear sweet Barry was and we pray God’s will and love upon Carrie and this child that will soon enter into this world and we pray for the father as they wait for the answers. We cannot understand all things of this world, but our hearts are humbled before him that whatever happens we will do the best we can with what we has given. I pray that Carrie will be blessed with a beautiful child that will bring her many blessings as well as you and papa the 2 grandkids you know have. May God Bless you and be with you all. Love and Hugs

    Like

  2. Hi Liz, I hope that it is the dates that are wrong. The lady I work with has a son with Down Syndrome, I know that she loves him very much, I have never heard a negative word or complaint, but it is not easy for her. You will be in my thoughts and prayers. *hugs*

    Like

  3. Hi Liz: I’m so sorry to hear that there may be a problem with Carries pregnancy. I hope it’ll turn out well and that the dates weres just wrong. I was 27 when I had Tripp. They did an ammio on me. I hope you’ll have a good weekend. I made steelhead trout last nite with a pineapple and red-onion salsa with chipoltes and adobo.
    I grilled some small new potatoes. It was all fantastic.
    Have a great day. HUGS and BLESSINGS

    Like

  4. Hi Liz,

    I happened upon your blog by way of a google blog search. I added you on flickr, so that you could see my amazing little four year old daughter, who also happens to have a little bit of something extra commonly known as Down syndrome.

    I also wanted to mention that my daughter has changed so much about my life, in such a good way. I am asking you to embrace the possibility of your baby having Ds. It can be difficult in the beginning, but if you later find yourself in the position of needing someone to talk to that knows a little bit about what it’s like to mother a child with Ds in this generation, I’d be more than happy to chat with you.

    If you don’t that’s ok too.

    Like

Leaving a Reply is Much Appreciated!

