My Mother

Years ago I gave Carrie my mother’s wedding picture. Last night while I was down Carrie’s I took a picture of the picture.

My beautiful Mother
My Mother-October 10, 1953

She looks so happy and beautiful. When I look at this picture I see someone who had such hopes for the future. I only hope that she found some happiness for herself in her adult life. Her childhood was full of physical and mental abuse by her mother. She had a miserable childhood.

She passed away on May 10, 1984 from pancreatic cancer at the age of fifty-five. I am a few months shy of fifty-five. I guess that weighs heavy on my mind lately.

9 thoughts on “My Mother

  1. Hi Liz,

    I can see a light of happiness in her eyes in that photo. I am sure she was very happy on that day and she was lucky to have you has a daughter!

    I hope you are enjoying your summer.

    ((Hugs))

    Like

  2. Hi Liz, oh she is so, so beautiful and such a shame she was abused. I don’t know what makes people abuse children or animals, I just don’t understand it and wish it didn’t have to be that way.
    I just love her dress.
    Don’t you worry about turning the same age and having any problems, I know it’s a normal concern, but I just know you are just fine.
    Thank goodness for the baby being ok and that will be so wonderful to welcome a girl!
    That was so sweet what you wrote on your comment to me.
    I also wanted to let you know I will be out of town for a week, so if I don’t stop by, you will know.
    Have a wonderful and blessed week, all of you!
    Your Mother is another shining star ♥
    (((much love and hugggs)))

    Like

  3. Ciao “Grandma Moon”, what a lovely pic of your Mom, how happy she seems! 😀 Sorry that she had a difficult childhood. I’m sorry you have lost her so soon, she was so young!!

    Hope you had a very nice weekend 🙂 I ‘m glad you liked Alessandra Fusi’s site. I’m glad I’ve found an Italian artist online, I hope there will be more in the future. 🙂
    Big hugs, Zeno says HELLO too. Time for bed here, take care and “see” you tomorrow. 🙂

    Like

  4. Hi Liz, your Mom does look so happy in that picture! I am so sorry that she had a difficult childhood, it does form us for our future unless we can get healed from the pain.

    Congrats on being a gramma again! And woohoo for new baby being a girl… you are very blessed my friend.

    Sorry not to have visited in so long, I haven’t been on the computer much, getting home from work, I have been so tired, and I couldn’t just face being on a computer again!

    Hugs!

    Like

  5. Hi Liz, It is a beautiful picture of your Mom and she does look very happy. It is sad to hear that she was a abused as a child, no one should have to suffer that way, it marks a person for life. Yes I understand that reaching the same age as your Mom would weigh on your mind, I turn 54 next Friday! I still feel like a teenager, lol. *hugs*

    Like

  6. Hi Liz: I love that picture of your Mom. I remember those gowns. They were beautiful. Your mother is lovely. What a shame she had unhappiness as a child. I hope your Sunday is lovely. HUGS

    Like

  7. HI Liz, what a beautiful photo of your mother, well photo of a photo. How sad for your mommy to die so young and for you. Oh my you’re young! you’re always talking like you’re so old. I do not think 54 is old that is how old Steve is. My Steve, he will be 55 in August, you were both born the same year. I was born the same year as MJ. LOL!
    I feel old sometimes but others I feel like a baby. I’m sorry your mommy had a ruff life. My childhood was hard to and I have to constantly struggle not to allow myself to be bitter or angry. Thank God I have God and a good husband and wonderful family. and I know you have all that too. God Bless Sweets enjoy your weekend.

    Like

Leaving a Reply is Much Appreciated!

