Meet Me At Rainbow Bridge

Some, in the blogging community, have formed some lasting and strong bonds with each other. We may not know each other personally. Some of us have met and some of us may correspond with each other through snail mail and telephone. Even if we have never met, we have come to know each other’s family through their entries. We care for each other and share in each other’s joy and sorrows. One such person that I have come to know through the blogging community had a loss the other day. Her beloved beautiful dog, Ben passed away. When I read the entry I broke down and cried. I am still heartbroken, but I cannot know how she and her husband are feeling. I only know that it hurts and it hurts deeply. That is how I felt (and still feel) when I lost one of my precious pets.  But I know that we will see our precious pets at Rainbow Bridge.  Knowing that gives us hope during those empty, sad times.

rainbowbridge

Just this side of heaven is a place called Rainbow Bridge.

When an animal dies that has been especially close to someone here, that pet goes to Rainbow Bridge. There are meadows and hills for all of our special friends so they can run and play together. There is plenty of food, water and sunshine, and our friends are warm and comfortable.

All the animals who had been ill and old are restored to health and vigor. Those who were hurt or maimed are made whole and strong again, just as we remember them in our dreams of days and times gone by. The animals are happy and content, except for one small thing; they each miss someone very special to them, who had to be left behind.

They all run and play together, but the day comes when one suddenly stops and looks into the distance. His bright eyes are intent. His eager body quivers. Suddenly he begins to run from the group, flying over the green grass, his legs carrying him faster and faster.

You have been spotted, and when you and your special friend finally meet, you cling together in joyous reunion, never to be parted again. The happy kisses rain upon your face; your hands again caress the beloved head, and you look once more into the trusting eyes of your pet, so long gone from your life but never absent from your heart.

Then you cross Rainbow Bridge together….

Author unknown…

6 thoughts on “Meet Me At Rainbow Bridge

  1. Oh, Liz, I’m so happy to see you’re doing well. I have been having computer problems like you wouldn’t believe, so last week I broke down and bought my very first personal computer. I have never had my very own computer, and now I do. Right now I can’t even get into my own site it’s been so long! Plus, our little network is coming and going. None of that matters. I hope you had a good summer. I did, although we started school really early and are back into the full swing of things. Hugs to you and everyone you love. So sad about the dog. I thought I had lost my 16-year old cat. I was gone for a week, and she ran off for ten days. Incredibly, she came back. Love and kisses!

    Like

  2. HI Liz, it’s very sad about Sandy’s loss of Bentley. I cried a lot yesterday about it. It really shocked me a lot. I feel so deeply saddened for her. I hope you will enjoy a nice week. I also posted a little remembrance for Bentley too. big hugs

    Like

  3. Hi Liz: Such a beautiful posting. I, too, cried when I read Sandy’s blog. Bentley was so special. My favorite picture was of him on the airplane sitting in a passenger seat.

    Today’s Corey’s party, so I’m off to get ready.
    HUGS

    Like

  4. Me again 😉 I’ve just seen your msg. Thanks for visiting, Liz! 🙂
    The jam cake is really quick to make and delicious… if you like jam, and I do 😉 I wanted to add the recipe to my R.Corner, but I’m getting a bit lazy ^^”
    I never heard of cloudberries before seeing that jam jar at Ikea. It’s pretty good.
    Have a fab day! Keep smiling! Hugs!

    Like

  5. What a beautiful entry, Liz! 🙂 So true and sweet.
    Losing a pet is like losing a family member, it’s heart breaking, I know. The Rainbow Bridge is such a lovely and comforting thing 🙂
    Big hugs!

    Like

Leaving a Reply is Much Appreciated!

