Do You Know The Muffin Lady?

I have been fixed on muffins lately.

Last Saturday I made corn muffins with blueberries. They are just a basic corn muffin recipe (I used some buttermilk). Basic in the sense that mine are a little sweeter than the ones served down here.  My only complaint was that the corn meal wasn’t coarse enough.  It was too finely ground.  Carrie said that they weren’t sweet enough.

“Hi Carrie” 🙂

blueberry corn muffins

Today I made apple cinnamon muffins also using some buttermilk.

apple cinnamon muffins

I caution that using just buttermilk in a recipe that calls for milk will make the batter very thick. If you are going to use some buttermilk in your recipes you will have to have a feeling for have to have a feel for know how the batter should be.  Did that make sense?

Yesterday, on ‘The Barefoot Contessa’ I saw her make Blueberry Coffee Cake Muffins.  Now, I have just got to make those.  They looked so good.

5 thoughts on “Do You Know The Muffin Lady?

  1. Can I have one? 🙂 Or even more, i don’t mind, hehe! 😉 They looks so yummy, Liz! You are the Muffin Lady! 😉
    Thanks for your visit, I feel better today and wrote a loooooooooong list of things I am grateful for. It helped. 🙂
    Hugs & happy day!

    Like

  2. Hi Liz last week I made Pumpkin Blueberry muffins those look so good. I don’t take good food photos and yours are always so beautiful! they look good enough to reach through the computer to eat. Have a great day sweets. big hugs

    Like

  3. Hi Liz:
    Those muffins look wonderful. Some renter here took all my muffin tins, so I have to start over!

    I don’t have a recipe for the candles. I have some fragrance oil and I save all the stubs of the votives from last fall and melt them down and add more scent. I’m cheap! LOL

    I’m shopping today and then I can go on a Fall cooking spree. I cleaned the freezer yesterday, so now I need to make a huge pot of chicken stock, then turkey
    stock. I’ll see what soup bones cost before I make beef stock. I freeze all the stock for winter soups and stews.

    Have a lovely day.
    HUGS

    Like

  4. OhGosh Liz, lol, I don’t know the muffin lady, but i know the muffin man 🙂
    you truly need your own cooking show. My goodness, the pictures come out just like they are right in front of me, only thing is i can’t reach in and grab one. They came out so perfect. I love to cook with buttermilk too, the lowfat kind. I just got back from the store to make some muffins or cupcakes too, I’m in the mood for baking tomorrow.

    I don’t know what kind of spider it was but by the sounds of it, it looks like Brian and I got bitten by the same kind, mine actually had little blisters on it and the cream took those away too. Just remember the name of that cream, cause it worked miracles. No I’m almost pretty sure it wasn’t a brown recluse because I had a nurse tell me if it was it would have gone down to the bone and ran from my wrist to my elbow. Sounds like a disaster to me. I didn’t see him bite me. if i did i would have tracked him to the moon to get to him. I wonder if there are different kinds of those things that leave marks like that?
    I know what you mean about creepy crawlies down here, geesh, I’m being very cautious too, it’s scary. now we have three of those huge garden spiders, the big bright yellow, brown ones that leave those big huge webs, but they are not supposed to bother you, and are supposed to be the good spiders, if that is even possible. I told Rex he needs to get rid of them. But they do eat other bugs. I took a picture of one, but it might freak people out if i post it. including me !
    There was a guy a couple of weeks ago that got bit by a copperhead in the garden center at Wal-mart in the next suburb over going towards Charleston kind of (Goose Creek), now that’s scary. He was okay and they caught the culprit. So yes, please be careful.
    It’s extremely nice out this evening for a change ! This is the first evening we don’t have to have that AC on, I feel like a different person. 🙂 It’s so easy to get cabin fever with the AC on non-top since May. Hopefully you are as cool and less humid as we are tonight.
    Talk to you soon !
    (((huggggs)))

    Like

Leaving a Reply is Much Appreciated!

