Wheat Skeets

Yesterday I made honey wheat hamburger buns. My idea was to make meat loaf burgers on homemade buns.

Wheat dough & buns

The dough on the left and the final product on the right.

They look pretty good in the picture but they tasted terrible and were too heavy and dense. While the dough was rising I wasn’t getting the yeasty dough smell…if you know what I mean. While they were baking I still wasn’t getting that smell of fresh bread baking.

When I took them out of the oven I noted how heavy they were. After I cooled them down, I tasted a smaller one that I made (I always make a sampler) and it had a metallic/chemical taste and smell to it.

I don’t know if it was the flour or the honey. I know that the flour isn’t expired. I keep wheat flour in the freezer in a container as it will go rancid quickly if not.

I just don’t know what went wrong.

“Hi, Tom?”

“On your way home from work can you stop and pick up some hamburger buns?”

4 thoughts on “Wheat Skeets

  1. HI Liz, it probably was the wheat flour, I don’t know if it can go bad in the freezer, but I guess it can go bad. That’s a shame about your buns they look so yummy! Does your hubbie read your blog while at work or are you making a joke? you’re so silly! Big hugs and have a great weekend!

    Like

  2. Hi Lize, They do look good, too bad they didn’t turn out the way you wanted. Almost everything I make lately doesn’t turn out so great, must stop improvising. Have a great weekend. *hugs*

    Like

  3. Hi Liz! The buns do look beautiful! As Connie said, maybe the yeast was bad? Love the muffins, I sure wish I lived by you! You are so artistic with your cooking and baking, you do inspire me! Hugs!

    Like

  4. Hi Liz: They look wonderful, but the metalic taste would scare me a bit! Could it be your yeast. I used to use wheat flour, but found it heavy. I tend now to make a 1/3 wheat to 2/3 AP or bread flour.

    I’m going on a chicken and turkey stock binge tomorrow. I’ve saved onion clippings, herb stalks and mushrooms and celary. I’ll bake the bones on two separate baking sheets with some mire poix and tomato paste for about 1 1/2 hrs., then put them in 2 separate stock pots and simmer most of the day over the wood stove. I love the stuff and make it often during the winter. I freeze it in pint freezer jars. I don’t have many beef bones and don’t buy them as they cost a fortune here. I remember when they used to ive me kitchen trash bags filled with bones for my dog for free. I made tons of beef stock then.
    Have a lovely day.
    HUGS

    Like

Leaving a Reply is Much Appreciated!

