French Fried Onion Straws

Because I had too many onions, we made onion straws/French fried onions yesterday.

Note to self: Check inventory before sending Tom out for groceries.

Instead of making my own flour mixture, we used Don’s Chuck Wagon Onion Batter by Hodgson Mills.  I used it dry rather than mix in any liquids to make a batter.  After slicing the onions into super thin rings, I soaked them in milk for a half an hour, drained the onions from the milk  then coated them in the dry mix.  I let them sit for about 15 minutes before frying.

A big o’pile of floured onions before becoming delectable, crunchy onion straws-

onion strings floured

The first of three large batches-

onion strings

Mmm!

They were so good as was the cranberry liqueur I made that had to sit for almost two months before we could drink it.

Phew!  Is that what they call a run-on sentence?

cranberry liqueur

It was a good day!

7 thoughts on “French Fried Onion Straws

  1. Hi Liz,
    Oh those look delicious! I will have some right now please!
    Thanks for the recipe, I will have to try them out and soon. The Cranberry Liquor looks yummy too! Was it good? I bet it was!

    I know what you mean about the last post regarding FB etc. You said it right!

    I hope you have a wonderful New Year’s Eve! And the most wonderful year ahead of that!

    {{{hugggs}}}

    Like

  2. Hi Liz: Oh those Fried onions are just making my mouth water. Darn, they look tasty! That Cranberry liquor looks great, too. Is it like an after dinner drink or a sipping drink?

    Have a lovely day Super Chef.

    HUGS

    Like

Leaving a Reply is Much Appreciated!

