Bubbly, Pies and Googly Eyes

The tourtière was very good. I am a miserable failure when it come to rolling pie crust. I have never been able to roll out a crust properly.  The crust was ripping, tearing and sticking.  There were more than a few patches to the crust but after they came out of the oven, they looked okay.

Phew!

tourtière

I must give a ‘shout out’ to Tom as he was standing by and helped me patch the crust.

tourtière  slice

I would love to invest in this handy little baking mat. It just may be to my advantage when it comes to rolling pie crust. Maybe!

The crust came out perfectly flaky.  I used shortening and some lard.  I know that there are those out there whose arteries are clogging while reading this but I only make these pies once a year.   And lard makes such delicious crust and biscuits.

Tom and I welcomed in the new year by toasting with come Asti Spumante.  I prefer this sparkling wine to Champagne because of its sweetness.  I call it the Italian version of Champagne.

And the anticipation of waiting for the clock to strike midnight. *LOL*

oh boy

Yes, this was before he even had a sip of the Asti.

Down, boy!

3 thoughts on “Bubbly, Pies and Googly Eyes

  1. Hi Liz, those look delicious! If you hadn’t of told us, we would have never known. And as for using the lard, and crisco, I’m sure it’s okay once in a blue moon – hahah it was a blue moon, so it’s okay!
    Would you believe I’m allergic to lard? I am serious. It’s deadly to me. I joke not. It’s got something in it that would probably send me to the ER.
    I don’t know if I’ve ever had the Asti before or not. I do like certain types of champagne though and I know some are really gross.

    Well is it cold enough down there for ya? It’s freezin up here with no end in sight. They said our normal highs for this time of year are 59 and it barely reaches the mid 40’s. It’s 28 degrees here right now and frost on the ground, but it’s still early yet.
    Tom looks so funny waiting with anticipation! The glasses are beautiful. I wouldn’t mind having a glass right now and it’s 7:30 in the morning – hahahah just kidding.
    (((huggggs)))
    I hope you have a great day!~

    Like

  2. Yum, I soooo want a slice! 🙂 I like a sweet glass of Spumante, but Champagne is not for me at all, too bitter for my taste. What a nice pic of Tom! Hope you are having a lovely weekend! Once again: Felice Anno Nuovo! 🙂 Hugs!

    Like

  3. Liz that good delicious. I used waxed paper to make my pie crust then take the pie crust fold over and put in the pie pan. Thanks to Tom here you got your pie crust all patched up. I have done that before myself. LOL! enjoy that it looks so yummy! Happy New Year!

    Like

Leaving a Reply is Much Appreciated!

