And Not A Drop To Spare?

Water, water, every where,
And all the boards did shrink ;
Water, water, every where,
Nor any drop to drink.-The Rime of the Ancient Mariner

I come from an area in New England where the ocean and the beaches were within my reach.   As a children, my sister and I swam in Atlantic Ocean at Rye Beach/Wallis Sands. Of course, back then, it wasn’t a destination for tourist as it is today.

The ocean water temperatures were frigid.  In the summertime, when the air temperatures rose to where the heat and humidity were just to much for one to tolerate, the only way to cool down was to go to the beach to swim.  Whether it was summertime or otherwise, that ocean water could turn a body blue and the rocky, jagged shores could give one a nasty cut, bruise, break to a bone or even-dare I say-a fatality.

As children, we could just barely romp among the waves on legs that were numb and tingly from the cold sea water, I could hear my mother call out from the shore telling my sister and me that it was time to come in and dry-off,

“Your lips have turned blue”!

Shivering, teeth chattering and near convulsions, we cried out and pleaded,

It’s not cold”!

“Can’t we stay in a little longer”?

“You’re not being fair”!

While in Miami, my sister and I visited the beach there.  The beach was right across the street from out hotel. It was cold and windy the two days we were at the beach.  We didn’t get to experience the ‘Miami Beach Scene’  because of the weather.   But I did snap a few photos and combed the beach for shells.

The first thing that caught my eye were the different hues of blue from the sky and ocean. And in the forefront, the white sands.

miami south beach colors

Dotted along the shore where these beach/guard shacks or beach/guard huts  painted in, what I call, tropical colors.

beach /guard shack-miami beach

I no longer find relief and joy in the ocean waters. I am content to just sit on shore, feet planted firmly in the sands, and admire the impressive, mighty forces of the deep.

6 thoughts on “And Not A Drop To Spare?

  1. Ciao Liz, happy Monday! Awww, dreamy shots! I’d love to leave nire the ocean or sea again one day. 🙂 The beaches in New England (well, Cape Cod) are so charming! But the water is sooooooo frrrrr-eezing! Brrrr!
    I tried candle-pin bowling once, while in Massachusetts. Last Friday Zeno played ten-pin bowling. 🙂

    Like

  2. Yes, that and sharks keep me from venturing out too far in the ocean anymore. I still love to walk in the water though. The water is so blue (blues) and so beautiful. I’ve been along there before and Key West too, it just keeps getting bluer and bluer.
    Ohhhh I clicked on the link to see your childhood memories and it didn’t work 😦
    Isn’t it funny how when we were little children the cold water didn’t bother us (even though we knew it did) but now we can’t stand anything cold touching us?
    Cute story ! Speaking of cold, I hope your staying warm down there. It’s been real cold and rainy here all day.
    {{{hugggs}}}

    Like

  3. Hi Liz: I love the pictures. The lifeguard huts are so cute. I’ve swum at Rye Beach. It’s lovely there. There’s a rrestaurant there I love..I think it was THE
    CAPTAIN’S TABLE? Great view, good food. Who is the mystery man? Have a great weekend. HUGS

    Like

  4. Hi Liz, you can find me at my new website I hope the link takes you there. I am not really into FB that much I got very bored with it and all those games. I don’t play them and don’t have time for FB right now. IF you click this link it will take you to my Blogger web blog. Have a great weekend. big hugs

    Like

Leaving a Reply is Much Appreciated!

