Say It, Spell It, Say It

Caution: A Grammy Moment Ahead.

I had mentioned in a previous post that Brian was going to compete against other fourth and fifth grade winners in his school’s spelling bee.  If he won he would have advanced to the county-wide bee.  Then from there, the Scripps National Spelling Bee.

During the competition, I was in Miami.  Before my trip to Miami, we had studied nightly to prepare him for the bee.  From there Tom took over.  Brian could spell words like paramecium, latitudinarian, psychoanalysis, aggrandizement, labyrinth and so on and so forth.  First he gave me the words to spell and them I gave him the words.  There was a method to my madness by me spelling first.  This way, he had to look at the words while I spelled them and was learning them at the same time.

On the day of the competition, Tom took a video camera and recorded the competition.  Out of sixteen children, Brian was down to the last four.  His word was ‘Lobbyist’.

“L-O-B-B-Y-E-S-T”

Oh, dude!

After I got home I viewed the tape and I could see the disappointment in his face.

Brian felt terrible and was worried that he had let us down.  We told him how proud we are of him and as long as he tried, he could never let us down.

I don’t think he will ever forget how to spell the word L-O-B-B-Y-I-S-T.

That same week, he got his report card and made straight ‘A’ honor roll again.

You go, Brian!

2 thoughts on “Say It, Spell It, Say It

  1. Argh, sorry Brian felt terrible. But he did great! 🙂 I hate spelling 😛 it’s something you don’t need to do in Italian (yay!!). 😉 Have a lovely day! Big hugs!!!

    Like

Leaving a Reply is Much Appreciated!

