Sunday Pies

Sunday, while Tom was working on the livingroom floor, I made homemade chicken pot pies from a recipe by Ida Garten.

chicken pot pies

Although they are not for those watching their calorie intake or their cholesterol, they were delicious.

Also, in keeping in line with a high fat dinner-

I made an Impossible Buttermilk Pie. I added a ½ teaspoon of almond extract to this pie. 

One other buttermilk pie that I made, I used orange extract ( ½-¾ teaspoon).

impossible buttermilk pie

Impossible Buttermilk Pie

Preheat oven to 350ºF

1 1/2 cups sugar
1 cup buttermilk
1/2 cup Bisquick baking mix
1/3 cup melted butter
1 teaspoon vanilla
1/2 teaspoon almond extract (optional)
3 eggs

  • Grease a 10 inch pie plate ( I used cooking spray).
  • Beat all ingredients until smooth, 30 seconds in the blender on high, or 1 minute with hand beater.
  • Pour into pie plate.
  • Bake until knife inserted in center comes out clean, about 30 minutes. Cool 5 minutes.
  • Serve with fresh fruit, if desired.

This Saturday, we are going to rip out the kitchen vinyl on the floor.   I can’t wait to do that and finally get that ugly stuff out of the house. 

BTW.  Here are some pictures of what acid etching stain looks like when applied to concrete floors.  I am not guaranteeing that our floors will look like those floors in the photos but I can dream. ♥

3 thoughts on “Sunday Pies

  1. Wow, Liz! May I have a slice? Slurp, yum! 🙂 I am not sure about buttermilk (what is it? A mixture of butter and milk?), but your pie looks deeeee-licious! Big hugs from Italy.

    Like

  2. When I got up this morning, I had my usual protein drink before leaving for work. I have been here about 45 minues now and all I want is chicken pot pie and a slice of the buttermilk pie! Everything looks so very tasty! I will have to check out the pot pie recipe. I have had a craving for one lately….which is weird because I haven’t had one in forever. I have been resisting because the frozen ones from the stores ~ well, they are just gross. Now if I can only make it until lunch! 🙂

    Like

Leaving a Reply is Much Appreciated!

