Fabric Flower and Filet Crochet

I saw some fabric flowers and wanted to try my hand at making one. I had some scrap fabric left-over, some vintage buttons and a tiny collar I made the other night for another project I am doing but it is too small. I thought fabric flowers would look pretty on a jacket, blazer or a hat.

I love vintage buttons.  I hesitate to use them because I am afraid I will loose them.

vintage buttons

vintage buttons1

Without a pattern, here is the result-

fabric flower

fabric flower3

Now that I got the gist of making them, I think I can do better next time and use prettier fabric.

Last month I crocheted this filet rooster. It isn’t blocked as of yet. Therefore, it looks a little misshapen.

filet rooster1

I thought it would look pretty framed.

I have a couple more projects in progress and hope to have them done soon.

14 thoughts on “Fabric Flower and Filet Crochet

  1. Hi Liz. I love flowers. Will be using that idea for my lil grandaughters. But, WOW, I love the rooster filet crochet. Do you share or sell the pattern. My husband and I retired ( ha ha) moved out of the city. But, we started collecting different chickens and provided a home for wayward cats. The j-o-b-s were easier but not as much fun. We laugh alot.

    Like

  2. Hi Liz, I love the fabric flower!! I have seen them in craft shows, and always loved them! I think you did a wonderful job, especially since you didn’t have a pattern! Missing you!! I hope all is well with you! Hugs!

    Like

  3. Hi Hon! Long time no visit, I have been thinking of you. I believe they have stores that just sell like thousands of vintage buttons. I wonder if there is one in your area. What type of sewing machine do you use? I still say you should set up an etsy shop, so people everywhere can enjoy your work and you can get paid too! Lots of Love, Lori

    Like

  4. Ciao! ~big hug~ Here I am, back from 2-week vacation around Scotland. So nice to see your comments are working again!
    You are full of hidden talents, dear Liz! 🙂 Hope to see more pics of your creations soon. A big hug and happy weekend!

    Like

  5. Yes, if I could track that lady down that stole my buttons I surely would. Well you know she didn’t really steal them, but how dare her to even ask for them? If she hadn’t, I’m sure I would still have them. Thankfully I still have the old tin they came in . I will post it on my blog someday. It’s a really old candy tin I believe and it’s a large one. I will have to ask my Momma where it came from, if Dad really did give her candy in it one time 😉

    Like

  6. Hello dear Liz, You never cease to amaze me! You are full of hidden talents. The crocheted Rooster block is absolutely beautiful! You could sell these on Etsy like crazy. And the button thing is really sweet. I too, LOVE vintage buttons. Before we moved to the hot south, we had a huge garage sale up north and some lady came by and asked if I had any buttons. Well, I had a whole tin of them, buttons from when we grew up, that my Mom saved in the large tin. I went in and got them and she bought them for something like two dollars ! I have kicked myself every since. I can’t even believe I did something like that. Oh what I would give to have those buttons back *sniff* *kick myself again* I could cry. I’m such an idiot at times, I don’t understand me lol
    I got your email and I just tried to email you back and it was returned to me and said this:
    Mail Delivery Failure
    This message was created automatically by the mail system (ecelerity).

    A message that you sent could not be delivered to one or more of its
    recipients. This is a permanent error. The following address(es) failed:

    >>> (your email was here) (reading confirmation): 550-The email you’re attempting to send matches the DCC signature of known spam
    550 and has been rejected.

    Oh well, things happen !

    Love you!
    Stay cool down there. I woke up to get some cold water at 3 am and it was still in the 90’s with heat index. At 7 pm it was 108 heat index *whew* I’m sure your the same down the road a bit.

    Like

  7. HI Elizabeth, I love your buttons they are so pretty! I have a huge jar of buttons. I make yo-yo flowers and sometimes crochet between the layers of fabric like you did. Here is a photo of a yo-yo flower I made earlier this year.
    yo-yo flower
    I like your filet rooster he is cute and would look cute in the kitchen. I have a lot of roosters in my kitchen.
    I hope you’re staying cool and enjoying summer! Love you! Hugs

    Like

Leaving a Reply is Much Appreciated!

