On Hosting A Yard Sale

Unless one wants to keep one’s sanity, I would suggest not hosting a yard sale if you lived in one place for twenty years.  Especially, if there are numerous yard sales going on in and around your area.

Tom was up at 4:30 this morning, with a flashlight, trying to set up all our treasures junk we were hoping to sell.  He had already dragged everything out to the yard last night to make it easier today.  The yard sale was set to start at 8:00 am.  He had awoken me at 6:30.  I wasn’t a happy yard sale hostess. I knew what was waiting for me outside.  To begin with, having a yard sale is something I loathe.  I am a ‘throw it out type’ of person and Tom’s theory is “What is one man’s junk, is another man’s treasure.  Or something like that.  I told him, “What is one man’s junk, is still JUNK!

I take my shower, grab a cup of coffee and head out to the yard for this-*groan* or was it more of a *growl*-yard sale.  As soon as I got out there, to my horror and dismay, I noted that there was still so much more to set out.  I got my butt in gear and in a frenzy starting emptying boxes that held all our treasure junk.

At 7:45 I told Tom that we were not going to be ready for this.  We went into the house, took a break and regrouped.

Finally, before 8:30, we were as ready as we were going to be ready.  We were a half and hour behind.  Brian stood out front with a sign hoping to lure people in.  But it didn’t matter because we didn’t get our first person until about 9:00. What didn’t help was we hadn’t even had time to price anything.

THIS WAS GOING TO FUN!

People came by in ‘dribs and drabs’.  They bought mostly all our tools and tooling and toys. Tom and I were both exhausted so we decided to close it down.  That was at 1:00.  I called the Salvation Army and asked them what they took for donations.  I was so happy to hear, “EVERYTHING”!  As of now, Tom is packing up what didn’t get sold and getting it ready to donate.

Today’s yard sale was a bust!  The profits from this yard sale lemonade stand, was probably enough to take us to North Carolina in our vehicle.  But, with tongue in cheek, we are just that much closer to home.

NEW ENGLAND or BUST!

I still have some of the kitchen left to pack and our room…Gee! I don’t even want to think about what’s left to do.

6 thoughts on “On Hosting A Yard Sale

  1. Hi Liz, I like going to garage/yard sales, but having one of my own is another thing. I am glad you made enough for gas. Your sense of humor is wonderful! I loved the pics of your hometown!! No wonder you are homesick. I love New England! Great to see you posting again! Hugs!

    Like

  2. Hi Liz tools always go fast I noticed. To bad the yard sale was not as good as you hoped it would be. People these days are looking for name brand products second hand. I just donate now and no garage sales ever again! we do sell furniture and cars on craigslist though and that works out well. I am so excited for you to be on your way and off to New England. So glad you made enough for the gas! enjoy a nice weekend. When do you leave? I love yas big hugs

    Like

  3. Hi Liz! So sorry to hear your sale was a bust. I SOOOOOO dreaded mine too, and it was for three days! We did have tons of people. The first morning there were so many people lined up and the whole cud-de-sac was filled with pick-ups and vans. We advertised heavily. Craigslist, the newspaper that also included two or three other area newspapers. Plus we made signs up (which was another dreaded task) We must have had over twenty signs and then the arrow signs as well that led to our house. (It’s very hard to find) A lot of people said they made it just by the signs alone.
    Anyway, thank goodness it’s over. I didn’t think I would survive. It was so stressful. I washed everything, and we had a tent that we borrowed from a guy too. I also had boxes that weren’t unpacked or priced, but those sold too. “Make me an offer” that really helped. I loved it that people would go through the boxes and find what they wanted. It saved me from having to do it.
    I love your little car up there all packed up! I wish you all the luck in the world to get back home. Blessings to you!
    {{{bighugggs}}}

    Like

  4. Hi Liz, In spite of everything you are going through you still managed to put some humor into your recount of the yard sale. I used to like doing them, but no longer. We had one this year and it was so tiring. Tony tends to think the same as you, he throws it out, while I like to try and recycle. It will be a long time before we have another if ever. *hugs*

    Like

  5. Ciao Liz! I hate yard sales 😉 I have been to only two while in the US and both times I ended up thinking: “Argh! You sure can see the worst of people here!”. So glad yours went well. Have a lovely and blessed beginning of the week. Hope all is well with you and I sure hope you will be super happy. Every single day! 🙂 Do you have a moving-date yet? Best of luck and big hugs your way!

    Like

Leaving a Reply is Much Appreciated!

