Cheeseburger Pie

As a young bride, many years ago, having very little money, I came up with a savory pie called ‘Cheeseburger Pie’.

It is somewhat like the French Canadian tourtière/pork pie that I make every New Years Eve or creton in honor of the French Canadian side of me.

To see my tourtière/pork pie click here.

For those wondering what creton is, it is a pork spread containing onions and spices.  It is delicious spread on a good Italian or French bread while sipping a cup of lightly sweetened, hot black, tea.  The cloves in the spread gives the tea a spicy taste.

The only spice that I use in my creton is ground clove. Others use cinnamon, ground cloves, or all-spice. But I do use the cinnamon, and ground clove when I make tourtière.

My cheeseburger pie uses ground chuck, rather than pork, and ground cloves. Sort of a cross between the tourtière and creton.

cheeseburger pie

Cheeseburger Pie

Preheat oven 375°F.

Have pie crusts ready.

Makes 1-9 inch pie

2 ¼ (2.25 lbs) ground chuck
1 medium onion, sliced
2-2 ½ teaspoons instant bouillon beef granules
½ teaspoon ground clove
1 ½ cups shredded cheddar cheese
¼ teaspoon ground black pepper
2 pie crusts for 9 inch plate

sliced onions

  • Fry hamburger with the onion until hamburger is cooked. Crumble the burger as it is cooking. Drain the burger and onions and put back into pan and put the pan back on the burner (Make sure the burner is off).
  • Add beef granules, ground cloves and pepper and stir until beef granules are almost dissolved.
  • Add the cheese and mix well (the cheese will become a little stringy).

cheese and burger

Put mixture into the pie shell and add the top crust.
Bake in a 375°F preheated oven for 35-40 minutes or until crust is lightly browned.

Simple, easy and delicious.

6 thoughts on “Cheeseburger Pie

  1. Liz this looks very very yummy, I must try your recipe! After not blogging for two months I finally posted again. I was so down in the dumps and finally I think I got myself back on track here. I hope you have a wonderful weekend. :0) Hugs

    Like

  2. Hi Liz, How are you doing? I realized I never answered your question about the Beauty and the Beast video I posted. Tony did the recording, I thought he did a pretty good job. I wish he would enjoy the show instead of recording but I’m glad he did, I watch it over and ever. Have a nice weekend. *hugs*

    Like

  3. Ciao Liz,
    yummy recipe! I’d use pork, coz I do not eat beef 🙂 but the recipe sounds delicious!
    Thanks for your birthday wishes, much appreciated! 🙂
    Hope you are having a great day with your beloved ones!
    *huggles*

    Like

  4. yum! This recipe looks delicious. I love your photography. Great job! I’ve just signed up to follow you by email. I will be looking forward to getting to know you. Have a wonderful weekend, Candace

    Like

Leaving a Reply is Much Appreciated!

