Cranberry, Orange and Toasted Walnut Bread

Ever since I had a taste of Orange,Toasted Walnut and Cranberry from When Pigs Fly Bakery when I was up in New England, I have been craving a turkey sandwich made with this bread.   Their bread is loaded with orange peel, cranberries, and toasted walnuts. It is heavenly!

Not being able to afford the purchase a loaf online (take a look at the shipping and handling-the more bread you buy the higher the shipping)-

I did some research and put together a loaf for myself using my bread machine on the dough setting.

First I made a sourdough starter and let it ferment for 5 days. Then I made the dough in my bread machine.  Foolishly, I didn’t write down the directions, amounts or ingredients. I am going to have to experiment again only this time, I will write down the directions, etc and use more dried cranberries and toasted walnuts and add more of an orange flavor.

cranberry, orange, walnut bread

My version was good, but as I aforementioned, I didn’t have enough of an orange flavor or not enough cranberries or walnuts. It wasn’t exactly like the one I had in New England, but my family and I indulged in slice after slice just the same.

sliced cranberry, orange walnut bread

With the left-over bread, I made a bread pudding adding orange extract to the recipe.

cranberry, orange, toasted walnut bread pudding

I got good use from that bread and can’t wait to make another loaf. Yesterday, with the left-over sourdough starter I made a loaf of cracked pepper and Parmesan cheese bread which I will post, hopefully, tomorrow.

In my haste, with cluttered mind, I wasn’t consistent with my photo logos which made my photos look-well-cluttered. What a mess!

2 thoughts on “Cranberry, Orange and Toasted Walnut Bread

Leaving a Reply is Much Appreciated!

