Carrot & Onion Basmati Rice

My family loves rice especially the basmati rice.  For an easy and tasty side dish, I make my Carrots and Onions Basmati Rice.

Carrot and Onion Basmati Rice

Carrot & Onion Basmati Rice

½ cup chopped onions
½ cups grated carrots
1 cup basmati rice
2 Tablespoon olive oil
1 teaspoon salt
1 ¾ cups of chicken broth.

Sauté onions, grated carrots and rice in olive oil for a couple of minutes. Add salt, and chicken broth.
Bring to a boil, stir, cover then lower heat to low and cook rice for 15 minutes.
Remove from heat and let rice sit, with cover on, for 5 minutes before serving.

When I can, I use these rice blends in place of the plain white rice-

rice blends

When I use those blends, I call the dish Autumn Rice.  These blends have such a wonderful nutty flavor.

autumn rice

Leaving a Reply is Much Appreciated!

