Boiled Peanuts

One treat that this Yankee finds enjoyable is the boiled peanut.  I was born and raised in New England and had never heard of boiled peanuts until I worked with a girl who was from Florida. She brought in some boiled peanuts to work one day, I tasted them and was hooked.  That was 27 years ago. I didn’t have them again until I moved to the South 21 years ago.

Today, I boiled some peanuts that my daughter brought home.

raw peanuts

The peanut, or groundnut (Arachis hypogaea), is a species in the legume or “bean” family (Fabaceae).

Boiled (Salted) Peanuts

2 lbs. raw peanuts
Water
Kosher Salt

Rinse the unshelled peanuts in cold water to remove any dirt or debris.
Place peanuts into a large kettle; add water to cover, throw in a 1/4 cup of kosher salt.
Bring to a boil, lower heat, cover and boil for 2 hours or until the peanuts are soft. You will have to test the peanuts by removing one from the pot, shuck it then test for doneness. (It should have a texture and feel of a cooked bean such as kidney beans.)
Drain and enjoy!

boiled peanuts

After they were cooked, my grandchildren and I couldn’t stop eating them. If you like boiled peanuts, they can be very addictive.

salted peanuts

My next adventure with the boiled peanuts will be Cajun style.

Leaving a Reply is Much Appreciated!

