On And Off The Hook

I am always afraid that I am going to lose my yarn needles. One of them (my favorite one) I have had for over 30 years. I got an idea to make a small pincushion to hold my yarn needles.  It was an easy project done in sc rounds. I added a couple of sl st rounds to embellish, then stuffed with poly-fiberfill

Crochet Pincushion

Then I got another bright idea to make a pillow using the same sc rounds only bigger. I added a floral motif and a button.

Crochet Pillow

My stash of yarn is very low to none existent. So, we took a trip to Michael’s so I could buy some yarn. Money being as tight as it is, I was reluctant to spend on yarn.  But, Michael’s was having a sale on the yarn that I like.  When I got there, the color selections were limited.  Therefore, I ended up buying Caron Simply Soft yarn.

Years and years ago I swore that I wouldn’t buy Caron Simply Soft again.  And, what did I do?  I bought too many skeins of Caron Simply Soft yarn.

Now, what am I going to do with this yarn I don’t like?  

I scanned through all of my patterns and decided on a shawl. Although the material for this shawl calls for crochet thread, I am using the Caron’s yarn since it is so “simply soft” it should drape just fine.

This is the WIP (Work In Progress) of the shawl.

Crochet Shawl

This pattern comes from the book “Total Crochet Fashions

The pattern is fraught with errors. Either that, or I am just stupid. I have come to the point to where I am doing it the way I think the pattern is intended to be written.  The shawl is half-way finished.

Crochet Shawl

Today I did a few more rows and I am afraid that I am going to run out of the green.

OMG!

Do I have to buy another skein!  I hope not.

After this shawl is finished, I will more than likely put it away and fuhgeddaboudit.

5 thoughts on “On And Off The Hook

  1. Hi Liz, those are pretty colors you chose. I don’t buy yarn anymore because I never finish what I start. Lovely pillow and great idea you had for the yarn needles, I can understand that you would not want to lose a needle you have had for 30 years. I am very proud of the articles I still have since I got married, 35 years ago. *hugs*

    Like

  2. Hi Liz, you do beautiful work. Why don’t you like carrion yarn? It’s so soft. Your blog is so cute . I finally figured out how to get in here on my iPad. OMG! I had no idea you lost your precious shadow, I am so so sorry for your loss. I love your beaded wired Suncatchers, they are really cute. I have made some similar with wire and heart beads, I called the circle of love, I sold it so now I am making a new one. A lady at my old church knits a lot and she decided to sell om Etsy and made a lot of money selling her knitted cowls. She stuck to one style and thing and plunged out like 40 of them. I can’t still long enough. Have a great Thursday hugs

    Like

Leaving a Reply is Much Appreciated!

