Celebrating Color

I think a lot about the Warningby Jenny Joseph, WHEN I AM AN OLD WOMAN I SHALL WEAR PURPLE“.

It wasn’t so long ago that I was afraid of color.  I grew up believing that hues had to coordinated with other hues.  To match purple with red or orange with red, and so on, signaled eccentricity.  I never thought much about colors, but as I get older, colors-bright colors-make me happy in my otherwise drab life-

felt flowers

-and keeping busy doing handcrafts, or some type of art, helps in maintaining sanity.

felt flower

In between crocheting, I have been making felt flowers using felt that I have on hand.   Besides these, that are floral shaped, I have made a couple of round flowers.

felt flower

I think of a field of colorful wildflowers while making these and then my mind drifts to these words-

“…I shall wear purple
With a red hat which doesn’t go, and doesn’t suit me.”

-“I shall go out in my slippers in the rain
And pick flowers in other people’s gardens
And learn to spit.”

2 thoughts on “Celebrating Color

  1. Hi Liz, I always loved bright colors but feel I stand out like a sore thumb when I wear them. Very pretty flowers. Not sure I’ll wear purple when I grow old but I will learn how to spit. I wish I could whistle like a boy. *hugs*

    Like

  2. Hi Liz it was easy to get in here today. I have always loved color my mom would call me her little gypsy. I have been working with felt wool lately making some cute things, I love embroidery and cross stitch as well as crochet because I can do it while sitting on the couch. Those are really sweet flowers. I also love your crochet bear that is very cute. Your chocolate tarts look so yummy, I love chocolate! Hugs

    Like

Leaving a Reply is Much Appreciated!

