About Town-Classic Crocheted Fulled/Felted Hat

Since I have been on a felt kick lately, I decided to crochet then felt a hat made with wool.

I have posted the pattern and you can find it here.  It is sized for a woman.

Crocheted Felted Hat

I felted it by placing the hat into the machine with hot, soapy water.

Felted Crochet Hat

This is a simple and easy hat to make. I designed it and worked on gauges last Friday then I crocheted it last night and then felted it this morning.

To-be felted hat

This is how it looked before felting.  It was so big!  I was afraid that it wouldn’t shrink enough to fit properly.

After I put it through the washing machine cycle, I was happy with the results. It doesn’t even look like it’s made with crochet stitches.

Here is a close-up of how the crocheted stitches look after felting.

felted swatch

Click-About Town-Classic Crocheted Fulled/Felted Hat for the pattern.

I have my heart set on doing “wet felting” and then “nuno felting” very soon.   I just hope that I can get the supplies to try my hand at these techniques.

3 thoughts on “About Town-Classic Crocheted Fulled/Felted Hat

Leaving a Reply is Much Appreciated!

