A Happy Thanksgiving

We had a wonderful Thanksgiving in spite of all the stress we are enduring. It was just the three of us, but as we said, we celebrated it exactly the way we wanted.

The day before Thanksgiving, we prepared most of the vegetables and the deserts. I made a cranberry, orange, and toasted pecan panettone using a recipe that I modified from King Arthur Flours.  In place of the apricots and ginger that the recipe called for, I used 1/2 cup of sweetened cranberries ( I soaked them in the refrigerator overnight in orange juice then drained them before use), and 1/2 cup toasted almonds.  I also added 2 tablespoons of orange peel to the dry ingredients.   Also, the fiori di sicilia added the perfect orange and vanilla flavor.

cranberry, orange and toasted pecan panettone

I used this bread to make a cold turkey sandwich.  The only downfall  is that I am the only one that like panettone.  With the leftovers, I am thinking of making  a bread pudding.  But, I still have pumpkin pie which again, I am the only one that like pumpkin pie.  I can only eat so much deserts and sandwiches.  Quite the dilemma I must say.

sliced cranberry, orange and toasted pecan panettone

Also, my grandson, Brian, asked me to make some jelly candy.  I made some four years ago and he still remembered.  Being a good Grammy, I made some for him. I used the recipe from Kraft Foods.  This time I made cherry flavor rather than the orange.  Brian loved the cherry flavor, but I found it too sweet.

cherry jelly candy

I think by making it with a citrus flavor (lime, lemon, orange), the tartness that citrus brings, balances out the sweetness and the tartness.

cherry jelly candy

I hope everyone, who celebrated Thanksgiving, had a wonderful day with family and friends.

3 thoughts on “A Happy Thanksgiving

  1. Wow that is great Liz, I am so sorry for what your family is going through. You are always in my prayers. You have been going through this for so long. Your candy looks great I am going to make that for Steve he loves that. Thanks for the recipe. I love the cake too it looks yummy and your pumpkin hats are darling. Love and Hugs

    Like

Leaving a Reply is Much Appreciated!

