Cherry ‘Jar’ Pie

I have seen, around the web, pies baked in jars.  I thought they were such a cute idea that I decided to make some cherry ‘jar’ pies.

cherry 'jar' pie with almond paste

This took a lot of patience when pressing the dough into the jars as I had the wrong type jars. The ones I use were square.  I am guessing that the round ones are much easier to form the dough.  

I almost gave up and slapped it all into a pie plate. But, I took a deep breath, calmed down and patiently pressed the dough into the jars.  

Phew!

Preheat oven 425°

Hint:  Using the metal top from the mason jar as a cutter for pie tops, cut out 4 rounds from pie disc. Set aside.

After I lined the jars with the dough (to the top of the jar) I added almond paste to the bottom before adding the filling.  

Before adding the filling,  shape almond paste into a flat disk and place between wax paper. Roll out a 6″ circle. Cut circles (using a 2″ biscuit cutter) of paste to lay on the bottom of the dough and lightly press.

Spoon filling into jars, lightly press the reserved dough circles on top.  Vent for steam.  I used a small star to cut out a shape and laid the shape on top of the dough.

Bake in a 425° pre-heated oven for 15, then drop temperature down to 325° for another 30 minutes or until lightly browned on the top and bottom.

Makes 4-8oz. jars

cherry 'jar' pie with almond paste

Such a cute presentation!

Update: I forgot to mention the cute little frame that I used for the pie picture. It comes from Super Scrap. Check out all the wonderful freebies over there.

Thank you, Super Scrap, for sharing your talents.

One thought on “Cherry ‘Jar’ Pie

Leaving a Reply is Much Appreciated!

