I Heart Hearts And Period Dramas

I finished the 68 episodes of “Upstairs Downstairs” (1971-1975). I absolutely fell in love with the series and didn’t want it to end. However, with my Kindle and a nice cup of hot “Tiger Eye Tea“, I started watching Season 1 of “Downton Abbey” and I am already hooked.

downton and tea time

It will take me a while to catch-up with the new “Downton” episodes airing now, but I can savor each episode like I did with “Upstairs Downstairs” .  I have seasons 1-3 to view before I will allow myself to watch the newer episodes.

Downton Abbey“-

The series, set in the fictional Yorkshire country estate of Downton Abbey, depicts the lives of the aristocratic Crawley family and their servants in the post-Edwardian era,during the reign of King George V—with the great events in history having an effect on their lives and on the British social hierarchy.

I just can’t seem to get enough of these British period dramas.  It is hard to imagine that people live/lived  in such opulence while others serve you and your every whim.

With Valentine’s Day in mind, though I don’t need any more crocheted items, I crocheted this colorful heart.

heart

I found the chart online and it can be found here along with other heart charts

(UPDATE:  It has been pointed out to me that the link to the heart cannot be accessed due to the page having too many redirects.  It worked fine yesterday, but I am not, and I suspect nor are others, willing to accept 3rd party cookies to access the site.  Therefore, I took the link down. Sorry for any inconvenience).

I used Lily’s Sugar ‘N Cream Cotton and crocheted the edging different on my heart than what the chart suggested.

Last, but not at all least…

…our sweet, little Luna keeping an eye on the situation.

Luna

Carry on, Luna.

Carry on.

cat2

8 thoughts on “I Heart Hearts And Period Dramas

  1. Downton Abbey was filmed at Highclere Castle which is only 58 miles away from where I live – I must make time to go and visit as the Earl opens it to the public from May – September. I, too, loved the series and whilst servants are no longer commonplace, the class system is entrenched in our heritage – everyone “knows their place” in society!

    Like

    1. I would so love to visit your beautiful country. It would be a joy to visit Highclere Castle and other historical places I have heard and read so much about. But, for now, I can only dream and keep on watching my favorite British shows.

      Like

    1. I haven’t watched “Call the Midwife”. I looked it up online and it would be something that I would like very much. I will probably have to wait until it come out in Amazon Prime. Every where I looked they charge to watch each episode now.

      Like

  2. I love Downton Abbey. Many people are employed in that household, the “help” has aspirations of a better life and the fact that it was post WW1 shows that people were creative with what little they had and had the same problems we have today, getting a job, paying bills, and taking care of family first. On the other hand alcohol, rape and greed were also a big part of their life, same as today. I am also watching Sense and Sensibilities, by Jane Austen, which is definitely a story of struggle and making the best with what you have.

    Like

  3. Hi Liz, I love your colorful blog. I love your heart. I am not a crocheter so I appreciate your work. The heart ornament you have listed on the right is nice too. Luna is very pretty posing for you. I hope you are staying warm, Hugs

    Like

  4. Liz, your heart is absolutely amazing! What a beautiful work of art; I am in awe of your crochet talent….

    Your Luna is such a pretty girl. Years ago I had a female tortoise shell, Punkin, that looked almost identical to Luna. Punkin was so dainty & lady-like….she was so tiny; even when fully grown she looked like about a 9 month old cat. She was so sweet & we had 12 lovely years together.

    Oh, lastly, I wanted to let you know that when I attempted to click on the link you provided for http://make-handmade.com/, it gave me an error message: ”This webpage has a redirect loop. Error code: ERR_TOO_MANY_REDIRECTS” I used the diagnostic key provided & it told me nothing was wrong on my end.

    Thank you for your wonderful blog, Liz!
    Lisa in Oregon

    Like

    1. Lisa,
      Thank you for your lovely comment and thank you for pointing out the too many redirects error on the heart chart link.
      Luna is fully grown and is also little. She has such a sweet disposition, but is fearful of strangers.
      Liz

      Like

Leaving a Reply is Much Appreciated!

