Where Was I When The Lilacs Bloomed

lilac2

WHERE WAS I WHEN THE LILACS BLOOMED

Where was I when the lilacs bloomed-
When their perfume filled the air,
When clusters of purple adorned the tree,
Beside an empty chair.

Where was I when the daisies danced-
To the rhythm of the breeze,
They stood amid summer’s field,
Near my lilac tree.

Where was I when the Autumn hues-
Embellished my lilac tree,
When leaves drifted to earth-
In spite of my senseless plea.

Where was I when the daisies withered-
Beneath the whitened green,
When crystal bejeweled my lilac tree,
Rainbows could be seen.

I am where no daisies dance-
No lilacs come to bloom,
No brilliant hues carpet the earth,
Only days of sobering gloom.

But, in daydreams and night dreams-
I am there to see,
Daisy filled summer fields
And my lovely lilac tree.

— Elizabeth Fecteau-Woodward (1992)

lilac1

*Lilacs drawn by me-

liz siggy

One thought on “Where Was I When The Lilacs Bloomed

  1. Hi Liz! I am catching up on your posts. You are so talented my friend…your poetry, your crafts, your artwork, your cooking and baking! I am so inspired of you! I,wish we lived closer, I know we would be great friends!

    Like

Leaving a Reply is Much Appreciated!

