Bread, Thread and Sauce That’s Red

I changed my site around a little by adding a background I made (using psp7) and changing some of the css. My blog was looking cluttered. I got rid of some of the sidebar contents and made some little social icons-using templates I found online-to replace the content that I took down. I still have a little more tweeking here and there to do.  Then maybe, I will just leave well enough alone.

“La donna è mobile.”

It has been one frustrating endeavor to put meals on the table as I had mentioned in an earlier posting. Pricing being a factor then compound that with trying to find the ingredients you need for a recipe in the grocery stores.

Yesterday, we made a large, basic spaghetti sauce/marinara sauce, meatballs with Italian sausage. I can get two meals plus enough of the sauce to freeze for pizza, etc. for another time.

Tom and Brian had spaghetti-

spaghetti

and I had penne.

penne

I love spaghetti, but spaghetti doesn’t agree with me-I just can’t seem to digest it since my two stomach surgeries.

Tonight, I am baking bread using a recipe (Italian Semolina Bread) from this book

bread book

The recipe calls for semolina flour, of course, the grocery stores here don’t sell pasta flour/semolina flour here (I was hard pressed to find rye flour until I saw that they stocked it in the ethnic section in 2 lb. bags only.  It is some off-brand, organic type that I never heard of before) I had to order-the semolina flour- online from Amazon-FREE SHIPPING. A 2 lb. bag cost 11 cents an ounce, which is cheap enough, but the downside is that for that price I had to buy 6 bags. We wrapped the other 5 bags and put them in the freezer for later use.

As I had mentioned, my passion for crocheting or crafting had waned. However, the other day I came across a crochet project I had worked on and picked it up again a couple of weeks ago. It’s an infant dress crocheted using #20 cotton thread. I just about have the yoke complete-

dress

Yet, for some unknown reason, I have put it aside again. I want to finish it, but I just can’t seem to settle in one place-my mind wanders all over the place.

But, hey!  At the very least we’ll have bread and pasta.

folkdoll

2 thoughts on “Bread, Thread and Sauce That’s Red

  1. Good morning Liz! Your site looks wonderful! I wish I new how to do all the graphics and stuff like you! And your pictures! I just ate breakfast, and looking at your spaghetti and meatballs, I am hungry again! I know what you mean about cooking, and prices of food! I am trying to watch the sale ads, for when things are on sale, and build around that! I am saving to buy an upright freezer, even if I find a working one second hand, and hopefully that will help with stocking up on meat and poultry on sale. Have a great day!

    Like

  2. I like the change, cornflower blue and pale yellow, my 2 favorite colors. And I know what you mean about buying products. In my neck of the woods, there are certain things people eat and will not stray from that. I have to travel to my daughter’s, about 25 miles, in the same county, to buy the items I need. With all the credit card thefts, I do not buy anything online.

    Like

Leaving a Reply is Much Appreciated!

