Pork Ragù and Pappardelle

When home cooking becomes a necessity.

Tuesday, I made a pot of pork ragù, Italian bread and pasta dough for pappardelle (wide pasta).

ragu and pappardelle

Tom (hubby) rolled and cut the pasta dough which gave me some time to step away from the kitchen for a little while.

Yay, Tom!

Tom the pasta maker

We made a pound of pappardelle. This is just one of two sheets.

pappardelle

For me, home cooking is cheaper, taste far better and healthier than processed, prepackaged or restaurant foods.

The downfall to home cooking is that it can be time-consuming. However, for some of us retired baby boomers, it is a necessity.

Sad as it is, it is just the two of us now.  Family is grown, far, far away and have lives of their own.  All we can hope for is that they all stay safe, healthy and happy.

Tom and I cook all of our meals, here, at home. The only days we don’t cook, are the days we eat left-overs from the day before.

Just last spring Bloomberg reported that Americans now spend more on dining out than they do on groceries. 

Luckily, most of us were taught, by our parents and grandparents, how to cook and prepare a home cooked meal.

It wasn’t until I was twelve years old that my parents finally took us to eat at a restaurant.  Up until then, all our meal were eaten at home.

I might add, it was the first time and the last time my parents indulged us with dining out.

Although I do understand why so many eat out; I find it sad that most don’t have the time or basic kitchen skills to cook at home.

There may come a time when it is a becomes a necessity.  If not a necessity, ` than a tradition to pass down to each generation.

3 thoughts on “Pork Ragù and Pappardelle

  1. Hi Liz! Your dinner looks wonderful! I would rather eat at home as well! The last two days, I have made two pound batches of potato gnocchi I! We are having for dinner tonight! My son Mike…his girlfriend is coming as well for dinner, and my boys go crazy for my gnocchi!

    Like

  2. Looks delicious! I also cook all the time, or at least most of the time. Brad isn’t very handy in the kitchen so to give me a break occasionally we will get take out. Doesn’t happen that often though because we is poor. 😉

    DO you use semolina for your pasta?

    Like

    1. Both semolina and flour. Being short on funds seems to be the norm here, too. After a while, I start resenting the kitchen and everything associated with cooking. 😉

      Like

Leaving a Reply is Much Appreciated!

